Pregnant or bloated?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

felku

Aquarium Advice Activist
I wasn't sure if this section was the right one. I have a swordtail I guess, I mentioned "I guess" because it was sold to me as a platy. She is acting strange since today, I had her in a different tank with some platy and since today the other fish started to bully her(in the past she was the bully) She looks plumpy but I can't see the gravid spot or at least I think it not.

Attachments

• 12033438_10207871419287477_1444051622_n.jpg
    12033438_10207871419287477_1444051622_n.jpg
    87.2 KB · Views: 67
I'm no expert but if you put a female livebearer in with males they will chase the females all around. This happens especially if you have more males than females. Looks like a platy to me but I don't keep them so I can't say for 100%. Maybe just take stock of your male to female ratio. If there are an equal number you need more females. With livebearers you usually want 2 or 3 females to every male just because of the relentless chasing.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

I have tank with 6 fish 2 males and 4 females, the other 5 are platy and she definitely looks different. Until today she was the one chasing the other fish , she was very active. Today she seems strange, she was like shaking int he bottom of tank and staying there for long of times. The I started to see the other fishes picking at her fin. So I decided to move her to my planted fry tank. she is definitely acting strange.