Shrimp advice for beginner

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tan-tay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Want to start a 5g shrimp farm i have no experience with shrimp. Wut shrimp are easy to breed and take care of. wut kind of filtration should i use and can i have fish with my shrimp?

Red cherry shrimp! Just keep clean water and theyll breed. Id use a sponge filter.
Id use bigger than a 5 gallon for breeding and yeah you can have fish. Not really in a 5g tho.
Make sure your tank is cycled

The sponge is the biofilter. And carbon isnt neccessary.
Google sponge filter. It connects to an air pump

Can you get red cherry shrimp from petland? I live in northern canada

You would have to contact your local stores to see if they carry them. They may be able to special order, or you can see if any members in Canada would ship to you.

Hi yes sponge filter be perfect,as already said make sure the tank is cycled first,also i would try and use some live plants a shrimps love picking through them looking for food:)

I just did this myself. I got a 5.5 gallon and made a home made sponge filter. I seeded it with sand, drift wood, and an old filter pad from an already cycled tank and it was ready to go. I have 4 rcs and 4 red rams horn snails for the time being. Does Anybody know if shrimp or snails poop a lot? I need to vacuum the tank a few times a week and i barely feed them lol :nono:

Hi how did you make your own made sponge filter? As far as i know they don't poop to much? But they do love digging around and creating a mess so to speak? What are you feeding?

stingrays4 said:
Hi how did you make your own made sponge filter? As far as i know they don't poop to much? But they do love digging around and creating a mess so to speak? What are you feeding?