Want to make a new strain of fancy guppies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mebbid

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am new to breeding fish but decided that I want to create my own strain of Fancy Guppies. I would prefer to to a double swordtail but am not sure what the best place for me to start is.

Would it be better to pick a double swordtail and breed it with a few random guppies? Or would it be better to pick a guppy with nice coloration to breed with the double swordtail?

I am new to breeding fish but decided that I want to create my own strain of Fancy Guppies. I would prefer to to a double swordtail but am not sure what the best place for me to start is.

Would it be better to pick a double swordtail and breed it with a few random guppies? Or would it be better to pick a guppy with nice coloration to breed with the double swordtail?

I thought it was rare occurrences that swords and guppies breed until i recently bought a female lyretail swordtail i have her in with my guppies no male swords. The male guppies keep trying to mate with her and now she is quite visibly pregnant. However it may have happened at the pet store when she was with others swords. I will have to wait and see. I wonder if the guppy x sword combo would lead to living healthy fry or if they would come out dead. Or would they have a hard time swimming due to the finage?

Sword tails are a type of platie if I'm not mistaken and shouldn't be able to successfully breed with guppies. I am referring to a different tail type of fancy guppy.

This is approximately what I mean by double swordtail
are1y2304mb1cq6.jpg

Sword tails are a type of platie if I'm not mistaken and shouldn't be able to successfully breed with guppies. I am referring to a different tail type of fancy guppy.

This is approximately what I mean by double swordtail