Will an electric blue ram mate with a normal German Blue Ram

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Crazyfoxeye

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to breeding and curious about ram cichlid breeding. I had ordered 2 electric blue rams, I can tell one is female and one is male by the black pelvic fins. And then I bought the normal colored ram cichlids and I think both of those are female. So I am just curious just do know, would the male electric blue ever breed with one of the normal females.. and what would their offspring look like?

I am new to breeding and curious about ram cichlid breeding. I had ordered 2 electric blue rams, I can tell one is female and one is male by the black pelvic fins. And then I bought the normal colored ram cichlids and I think both of those are female. So I am just curious just do know, would the male electric blue ever breed with one of the normal females.. and what would their offspring look like?

I believe the Electric Blue Rams are nothing more than a color morph of the regular blue ram so if you were to breed the 2, most likely the common color would be dominant. If you are trying to keep the electric blue genepool, I would not breed these with the common rams.

Hope this helps...(y)

yes it does help. Just curious.. I would think they would pair up with similar species. But at least I got a pair of electric blues because those can go for 20-40 on the internet sites I was on. If I were to breed them, how many fry do you think I would get? And do I need a separate breeding tank? I heard that the parents will protect their fry. The biggest fish in my tank are those 4 cichlids that will reach 2.5 inches when fully grown. I might have to get like a giant 90 gallon tank to raise all of them lol.