Will my guppies/ mollies/ platies breed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

boothman

Aquarium Advice Newbie
i have a pair of saffron mollies, pair of platies and 4 guppies. How likely is it that they will breed. Its my first time attempting to breed, and is tere anything ill need to do to encourage them to breed? I also have some tetras. Any advice welcome

if you have a mix of male and female they will breed! but you really should increase your stock to male female ratio to 1m for 2f, 3f for every male is better.

how big is the tank?
what's the temp?
planted? how much? picture?
hiding places?
Ph? parameters?
floating plants?
depth of tank?
filtration?
how often do you do water changes?

all of this and more effect breeding. more info and you can get more help :)

about how big are all the fish? full grown?

My tank is 13g, at about 75 degrees. I have 5 plants, not sure on ther species though. I do 50% water changes every week.
I have a fake plant/ rock decoration and a shell decoration with plenty little caves i to hide in.
I've had them about a month and a half, and they are about 2inches long, so im not sure if they are fully grown yet, hope this helps

that's a pretty small tank. if any do give birth odds are they will get gobbled up. if your going to breed, you will need a bigger tank. 13g would make a good fry tank

the key to breeding is to mimic the fishes natural environment.

what type of filter do you have?

also I would bump the temp up to 77. the warmth enduces pregnancy quicker, and fry are best kept at 80

i have a pair of saffron mollies, pair of platies and 4 guppies. How likely is it that they will breed. Its my first time attempting to breed, and is tere anything ill need to do to encourage them to breed? I also have some tetras. Any advice welcome