Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-18-2007, 08:01 AM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 201
*reposting this here.

Hi,

I've been having issues with this forum on my home computer.

Every time i try and access any of the pages from another site or google for example I load the first part of the php code and a basic structure of the page but then internet explorer tries to redirect me to a virus page.

The page it tries to load a page something along the lines of

s99.winmplayer.com/media/n404-6.php

This then hangs as my antivirus software kicks in to warn me about all the temp file virus's it is downloading.

The downloaded files this my temp internet folder in three forums

s99.winmplayer.com/media/n404-6.php - Virus
s99.winmplayer.com/media/n404-5.php - Trojan
s99.winmplayer.com/media/n404-4.php - Virus

It is only this site it is happening from and I seem to be able to get in fine at work (I presume their anti virus and stuff is better then mine at home - hopefully).

I'm using the latest updated version of IE and windows XP.

I will switch to firefox to use at home but I thought i should mention it here incase anyone else is having the same issue.

Thanks,

John
__________________

__________________
HiJaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 01:20 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
I have not seen that error myself at all. I used to run Norton, and now use AVG. I use the Blacksoul as well. No issues on my end.
__________________

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 02:08 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
LandGhoti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Midwest
Posts: 935
Sometimes at home (and never at work) I get the "blip" noise and then the little bar across the top saying it's trying to install "Outlook.exe" (which is my email program anyway). Says "click here to download if you trust this source, etc..." I never do, of course, and eventually can navigate around AA. I'm running McAfee (which I actually hate) and Black Soul in IE 7.

So far, it's only a very tiny annoyance...
__________________
29-gallon FW
1 yoyo loach, 2 polkadot loaches, 6 cherry barbs, 2 turquoise rainbows, 1 chinese algae eater, 2 harlequin rasboras; java fern, java moss, hornwort, Asian ambulia
LandGhoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 05:32 PM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
Last friday I had an issue where my entire machine locked when I came here. It started with my browser (Firefox 1.5) and the last thing in the status bar was "getting data from s99.winmplayer.com" But I wasn't on the home page. I was on the forum list page when this happened.

I think the lock up on my end was due to my virus scanner fighting with whatever it was that was downloading.

Is it possible that one of the ads in rotation may have something in it?
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 07:59 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I got the same thing about 15 minutes ago. I am using avg anti spyware and anti virus.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:24 PM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
It's weird but I only get it at my office machine (which runs IE). I don't get it at home (which I run FF on). I have McAfee on both machines however.
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:39 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I have never gotten any error message with this site using Norton and AVG. I also use Blacksoul and IE7.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2007, 09:47 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 150
Send a message via MSN to Gundy
I got a popup from some sort of AD or something for a virus/trojan. I'm using firefox and NOD32
__________________
Gundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 06:08 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyZ
Last friday I had an issue where my entire machine locked when I came here. It started with my browser (Firefox 1.5) and the last thing in the status bar was "getting data from s99.winmplayer.com" But I wasn't on the home page. I was on the forum list page when this happened.

I think the lock up on my end was due to my virus scanner fighting with whatever it was that was downloading.

Is it possible that one of the ads in rotation may have something in it?
Thats exactly what happens to me. I run AVG and Spybot search and destroy at home and it seems to react to it badly.

My work PC where I am now I presume blocks it with its superior antivirus stuff.

John
__________________
HiJaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 03:34 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Hello,

I'm the admin of a poetry website (lapassiondespoemes.com). We're running a totally custom message board system and we've been having the exact same problem. I found this thread on google while searching for info on the problem.

Users reported files being downloaded from s99.winmplayer.com at first. Now it seems to have switched to s99.msiesettings.com.

I'll post more info here if ever I find any...

Frank
__________________

__________________
ddcarnage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Page Format Change? Purrbox Forum Admin & Announcements 3 03-10-2007 10:44 PM
!!!!Update to the Main Page!!! fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 0 11-08-2002 10:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.