Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2007, 10:17 AM   #51
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
For the first time yesterday I used IE and it gave me the warning. I just firefox and never have a problem.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 11:27 PM   #52
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Lonewolfblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 8,435
Send a message via ICQ to Lonewolfblue Send a message via Yahoo to Lonewolfblue
I use IE all the time, and never got anything til just now. It acted like it wanted to crash my laptop. My AVG came up with 2 viruses and 1 Trojan, both are still in my AVG Virus Vault. The 2 viruses are as follows:
Exploit
Exploit.CVE-2005-1790

And the Trojan is:
Trojan horse Exploit.CVE-2006-1359

The first virus AVG has it as Healable, but the other 2 are not Healable.
So I just deleted all 3 now.Willsee if it comes up again.

When I got them, my system also told me it was almost out of resources, and said Windows needed to increase page file size, and that some programs might need to be closed for this operation to complete. The only thing I even had open was IE, and only have AVG running in the background.
__________________

__________________
55G Filstar XP3 - 16" Fire Eel
75G Medium Planted - Filstar XP3 Low Light - Established Feb 2006
Lonewolfblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2007, 11:41 PM   #53
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NJ
Posts: 662
Whatever the problem is they need to fix it. I too receive a notification that my computer blocked a hack attempt each time I log into the sight. This thread has been opened almost a month now. What are they doing.
__________________
C/
chase33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 12:34 AM   #54
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
I'm now upto four different viruses being blocked simultaneously when I first visit the site. This appears to be getting worse. I may have to take a break from AA until the problem is fixed, because this last it brought my laptop to a screeching hault and one of the viruses couldn't be cleaned or quarentined. Luckily it was an older exploit that my system has already been patched to avoid.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 01:00 AM   #55
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I never got the warning until just a few days ago too. Now Norton is picking up 3 things whenever I log in to the homepage.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:00 AM   #56
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Erie, CO
Posts: 681
Looks like I'll have to stay off AA for a few weeks until the server is cleaned of Trojans/Viruses.

at home
Win XP SP2 media center edition
IE 6
McAffee finds the trojan

at work
Win XP SP2 professional
IE 6
Trend Micro Professional found trojan one time and now the firewall seems to be blocking further downloads of the trojan on future visits.
__________________
patryuji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 12:07 AM   #57
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by chase33
Whatever the problem is they need to fix it. I too receive a notification that my computer blocked a hack attempt each time I log into the sight. This thread has been opened almost a month now. What are they doing.
The problem is that "they" is probably just one guy! It's not like AA has an IT staff or anything!

This thing is annoying, but I can see where it's hard to track down. Like right now, I've surfed all over the AA site, TRYING to sniff where it's at, and it's not giving me any warnings. It comes and goes. While I have no knowledge of what's being done behind the scenes, it doesn't appear that it's something hard coded/hacked on the AA site - or we'd get the warnings all the time. Most likely, one of the external links/banners has been hacked and it's being pulled in from there. That's probably what's making it tricky to find and fix... the source is not within AA's control.

Just another good lesson on why it's important to use a firewall and/or antivirus scanners.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 01:09 AM   #58
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,544
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
This is what Fishfreek said a few posts back:

Quote:
Not constantly posting does not mean one is not looking into this. I have been looking into this for a while and trying random code removals to correct it. This site is heavily modded and removing the wrong thing will take the site down 100%. I have never seen this message myself and I run Mcafee at work and AVG at home. Both reported as giving the error.
Please be patient.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 06:41 AM   #59
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Kurt is correct. We do not have an IT Department. The admins are trying to take care of the problem but as Lindsay pointed out, FF is aware of the problem and is trying to fix it. I don't know if it's a banner problem or not. I get the error message from the first page I open a post directly from an e-mail notification. If I have 40 AA e-mails the Trojan will only appear on the first e-mail that I click from. It doesn't matter what banner is at the top of the page or who has responded to the post.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2007, 05:46 PM   #60
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishyfanatic
...If I have 40 AA e-mails the Trojan will only appear on the first e-mail that I click from. It doesn't matter what banner is at the top of the page or who has responded to the post.
Actually... depending on what type of firewall you're running, the offending script might be associated with all the emails - or actually the AA page you're linking to -, but you're just seeing the warning on the first one. With me, my firewall detects the script and then blocks the IP address that script is being called from for 30 minutes. That 30 minute "time out" would give the appearance that the first email was the bad one, but all the rest were OK. In reality, they're probably all bad, but because of the 30 minute block on that IP, you're not seeing it anymore.

Hope that makes sense...
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Page Format Change? Purrbox Forum Admin & Announcements 3 03-10-2007 10:44 PM
!!!!Update to the Main Page!!! fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 0 11-08-2002 10:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.