Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-14-2009, 09:57 PM   #1
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Aqua rank/ adware software?

Last night when I clicked on the aquarank link to vote for AA, I was redirected to an automatic download of "antivirus-1" which is a pretty malicious piece of spyware/adware disguised as antivirus software. It took me a couple of hours to manually remove it from my harddrive/registry. Not sure if it was AA or aquarank related, or maybe I just had some other Trojan that redirected my browser as I clicked the link. Has anyone else had this problem?
__________________

fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 10:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
No I haven't had the problem. I vote everyday and never had this happen once. Sometimes Aquarank is down but it is a separate site and I just try again later.
__________________

__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 10:11 PM   #3
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Yup agreed zags. I click it every day without incident. But yesterday it def redirected to a different link. Was really weird.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 10:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
That is very odd. I am betting it was a redirect. Hopefully it doesn't happen again to you.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2009, 11:52 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
I had something similar happen to me 1/2 hour ago. The link went to a pdf but I didn't let it open, I immediately hit back on the browser as soon as I realized something was weird. My computer was very slow afterwards but I have now restarted and it appears fine...of course I also just backed everything up (dissertation!) and am now running every virus and malware program I have, but it may not have been an isolated incident.
__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:04 AM   #6
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
Same thing happened when I did. Be thorough, from what I read the program is vicious. Check your program manager and make sure av.exe (or similar) isn't running. Sounds like this could be an issue...
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:26 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
If it continues, I guess it would be good to alert Aquarank as it is their link.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 12:32 AM   #8
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
I think if there is a problem, it is likely on the AA side... If it is indeed an issue and not an isolated incident or related to aquarank, it might be a good idea to temporarily bring down the link. Of course that is up to the tech admins... For now I am just not going to vote.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
FYI I saw it while voting from another site.

fort, I just checked my program manager and I don't see anything resembling av.exe besides all the avg.exes I have from my actual virus software (called AVG). But I will keep checking and run the spyware program every day for the next few. And keep backing up everything!
__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 01:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
Well, I just clicked on the "vote for aa" clicky in fort's thing, and Avast said something about a virus being blocked. I tried again and nothing happened, so it might just be an oversensitive virus blocker.
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
software

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.