Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-22-2014, 08:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Admin
Janet H's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 3,056
Chat Room Login Help

There have been several reports that members are having trouble accessing the AA chat rooms.

This recent issue has to do with Java (the software the drives the chat application) heightening their security measures in order to better protect users against malicious attacks on the internet. Because of this, you will now have to do a bit of configuring both in your browser as well as your Java control panel, in order to resume using the chat application.

The following instructions are divided into sections that pertain to three of the available browsers: Chrome, Firefox, and IE.

If you are unsure about what version of Java you have running you can check by visiting the java site verification tool here: https://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp. Once you have updated your Java version you may begin by checking to ensure that your browser is not set to automatically block Java applets.

In Internet Explorer

1. Open your browser and go to Internet Options (the gear-shaped icon in the upper right corner)

2. Next select the Security tab on the top, and click the Custom Level button towards the bottom

3. Now scroll to the section that handles the scripting of Java applets. Here you should make sure that this option is not set to disable. It should be either Enable (automatically allows Java to run) or Prompt (asks you each time to allow/deny.)

In Chrome

1. Open your browser, and type in the address bar: chrome://plugins

2. Navigate to the Java plugin and ensure that it is not disabled (grayed out.) Here, if you have the Always Allow box checked, it will automatically run Java without asking you. If the box is not checked, Chrome will prompt you to give permission each time.

In Firefox

1. Open your browser, and go to the Add-ons settings.

2. Select the Plugins tab on the left-hand side, and navigate to the Java plugin. Make sure that you either have Ask to Activate (will prompt you each time Java tries to run) or Always Activate (automatically runs without asking you.)

Now that you have verified that your browser is not blocking Java, the final step is to add a couple of site names to the Exceptions list within the Java Console itself.

First, you will need to open up the Java Console.

In Windows

1. Go to Start and search: configure java

In Mac (OS X)

1. Click the Apple icon in the upper left of the screen
2. Select System Preferences
3. Select the icon for the Java Control Panel

The next thing you are going to want to do is select the Security tab and then the Edit Site List button.

Now you will need to add two separate entries to this exception list:
1. http://www.aquariumadvice.com
2. http://client11.addonchat.com

Now click Ok, accept the following prompt, and exit the Java Console.

Lastly, you will want to reopen your browser. Now when you navigate to the chat section, you will be prompted to run the Java application. Click Run, and you should be all set.


((((º> ¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º> ¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>
¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º> ¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><(((>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>¸.·´¯`·.¸¸><((((º>
Support Aquarium Advice | Community Rules | Terms of Service | Custom Search
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 09:01 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
dmolavi's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 2,097
FYI, on corporate networks, this may not be possible, as most IT groups lock down settings like this.

Are there plans to get a signed certificate for the chat room so that we don't need to work around this? (I'm going through this right now with an app I develop..had to dish out $1200 for a 3 year cert).
20 gallon nano-reef torn down to make way for the 40B Reef. I also have two 5 gallon fresh
dmolavi is offline   Reply With Quote

chat room, log

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My stocking... What do you think? any room for 2 more GBR's CharlieB Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 0 07-11-2011 05:50 AM
Red tail shark needs more room? efields Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-29-2011 05:32 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.