Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2005, 07:14 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,084
Send a message via AIM to krap101
did aa go down for a couple hours earlier?

i couldnt get into aa but i could everywhere else
__________________

__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Palm Bay Fl
Posts: 4,076
Send a message via Yahoo to oscarbreeder
same here.
__________________

__________________
Please remember to vote for Aquarium Advice!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v328/kyman_33/sig.jpg
oscarbreeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:18 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I think maybe it did. I wasn't able to get into it either. Even just now it took me a little bit to be able to get into the site.
__________________
Fishyfanatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:21 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 63
Send a message via Yahoo to dogspot
Yeah, it was down... I blamed it on my work server... But with y'all having the same problem, I think we have isolated the source...

Didn't think I was that addicted until it got taken away from me and I actually had to work while at work....
__________________
55 Gallon Tanganyika setup
3 Frontosas
4 Leleupis
2 Black Calvi
3 Julidchromus Transcripti
3 Synodontis Petricolas
2 Common Plecos
(all are juveniles) Plan to upgrade to about 120 gallons soon
dogspot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:24 PM   #5
kansaschick08
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
it led me to taking a nap..
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:25 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
Yay...AA is back!
__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
fish freek said in chat..
<fishfreek> our data center is having power issues
<fishfreek> the main power to the datacenter has gone down.
<fishfreek> generators are not keeping up with overall load
<DevilNaBlueDress> ahhhhh
<greenmaji> ahh.. thats no good..
<fishfreek> (tisk tisk on some engeneers part)
<fishfreek> datacenter has taken measures of cutting power to some areas of the data center to keep the bulk of the data center up
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
a update around 3:30pm est
<fishfreek> - The building where our datacenter is located lost power.
<fishfreek> - The UPS systems did function properly and carried the power load.
<fishfreek> - The generators did start, however the transfer switch that moves load from commercial power to generator power did not function properly.
<fishfreek> - The UPS batteries were drained because the generator power could not be transferred.
<fishfreek> - The UPS system does not power the HVAC units, so the temperature inside the datacenter climbed very quickly, forcing us to shut down ALL servers to prevent heat from damaging hardware and data.
<fishfreek>
<fishfreek> The generators and UPS systems are the responsibility of the building owners which we are leasing space from, and they were tested and expected to work properly. It has not yet been determined why the generator power was not transferred properly.
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 07:29 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
An t-iasg's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Criders Corners, PA
Posts: 9,891
I was having some problems too. The pop-up box kept saying "operation timed out when attempting to contact aquariumadvice".
__________________







An t-iasg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 08:05 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Moving to site help/feedback.

The outage appeared to last approximatly 3 hours. It appears there was a power outage at the datacenter. While there is ample generators and UPS backups the transfer swtich that converts from convensional power to generator power failed to flip resulting in running on UPS's for longer than designed. In addition the enviormental equipment was not on the generator and there for all 4000+ systems in the datacenter had to be shut down to prevent the temperature from getting to high.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just a couple more hours! Gillie Aquaria Off-Topic 15 09-16-2014 11:02 PM
Should have done this earlier. Solarris Member Introductions 2 12-15-2009 08:45 PM
Aiptasia picture from earlier thread Brenden Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-29-2005 09:22 PM
clown loach died after a couple of hours 3Corsameal Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 8 09-23-2003 07:00 AM
I get to start my salt tank 2 yrs earlier than expected swishyfishies Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 04-11-2003 08:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.