Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-26-2009, 02:54 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
its just this site that is slow
__________________

__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 03:12 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
Not sure what the problem is then. Like I said, this site loads instantly for me. Might be your geographical location that comes into play here. I noticed a while back before Social Knowledge and Andy R took over that the site was slower. After that things seemed to have sped up a bit.
__________________

__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 08:25 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Admin
 
Janet H's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 3,091
Can you tell me what internet provider you have? We have had several reports of slow downs with comcast and their subsidiaries and are still trying to trouble shoot this. Any info would be help full..
__________________

><
((((> .`.><((((> .`.><((((>
.`.><((((> .`.><((((>.`.><((((>.`.><((((>
.
Support Aquarium Advice | Community Rules | Terms of Service | Custom Search
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 08:30 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
i have verizon fios. it happens with chrome and firefox at night 12-2 ish at times pst. not all the time but here or there.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 08:30 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
DizzCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 331
Yeah, I use Comcast. Today its running nice and fast. But most times it times out.
__________________
DizzCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 05:01 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I use comcast as well but haven't had any issues.
Keep in mind, both cable and FIOS are on a shared "pipe" so the more folks on the pipe can slow down the traffic.
What is really stumping me is the fact it is only this one site....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:44 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 6,070
At work its a 25mpbs dedicated line from Consolidated Comm. and at home Comcast cable. Never had any problems with firefox. Only time I remember it being slow was before the change in owners.
__________________
meegosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:51 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I use comcast as well but haven't had any issues.
Keep in mind, both cable and FIOS are on a shared "pipe" so the more folks on the pipe can slow down the traffic.
What is really stumping me is the fact it is only this one site....
lol must not know much about fios there is no slow time. i get max connection at all times and it holds true to everyone i heard so far. even if that was the case its only this site and it is only late at night where the traffic would be down anyways.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:17 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I hear ya, but I actually work for Verizon and believe me, it is a shared infrastructure, unlike our UUNet backbone. FIOS is great and has huge bandwidth, but there will come a time when the fiber will become oversubscribed (not any time in the near future).....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 09:22 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
maybe when everyone starts switching to the rumored 100mbs they been testing. while it maybe shared like you said huge bandwidth. even if it slowed down in half it still shouldnt cause a page to take forever to load.
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feeding Times? Dyami Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 09-02-2008 03:21 PM
Photocycle times? palisaide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-13-2006 08:13 AM
it was the best of times, it was the worst of times tropicfishman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 05-19-2006 10:18 AM
I know I'm behind the times... DepotFish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 02-01-2006 10:31 PM
How many times?? sango Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-01-2005 11:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.