Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Forum Admin & Announcements
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-07-2004, 02:57 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Unable to upload

Even though I have uploaded photos from the same place before, now I can't do it. It acts like it is doing it, and then when I get the message that the upload is complete, I get a completely blank, white screen that says "Done" at the bottom left. The photos are not getting uploaded. I am doing it the same way I did it in the past.

TIA!
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 02:59 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Boston,UK
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to Vicshaw Send a message via MSN to Vicshaw
I cant ever up load my pics, cos theyre all too big, its not fair!!
__________________

__________________
Vicshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:02 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
For issues related to the site please check the site help/feedback forum.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=14920

The link above explains whats going on. I will clear your upload que and you can try again. Try a different image. I have seen it have issues with specific images.


Quote:
I cant ever up load my pics, cos theyre all too big, its not fair!!
Nor is it fair to have modem users have to wait a minute or more for an image to load. The size limits we have specified are such that they are a happy medium betweeen file size and image quality.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:02 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I tried downsizing them, to no avail. The originals in this case are actually smaller than others I have uploaed in the past, so I am at a loss!
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:04 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
The file that might have caused the problem was 55.jpg as it was 327K
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:05 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Once you get a white page you cant upload any more images till we clear the backlog. Thats why the smaller version didnt work either. your que is not cleared and the smaller one shoudl upload just fine.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:07 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Okay, thanks and I will try again. I looked in my gallery and there is a photo in there that is 535kb so I thought I was in good shape. There may have been changes made to the process since I uploaded that one.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:17 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
It might have been before we upgraded to the newest version of the gallery. It also might have to do with how long it took to upload the file. maybe today the upload took a few seconds longer causing the script to time out. Maybe it took longer to generate the thumbnail and the 640x480 version. If all this takes longer than 45sec then you will get a script timeout and thus the white page.

Coudl also be the particular image itself.

There are many factors that go into it and its almost impossible to know unless im physically stairing at the server display as the upload and script is being executed.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:17 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Moving to site help/feedback
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 03:25 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
Sorry for posting in the wrong spot! Downsizing the photo did the trick.

At any rate, I was able to upload this time, and thanks for your assistance and the comment you posted! This tank is almost all about the plants now, as you can't hardly even see the fish in my photos. I need some pruning shears...
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unable to get freshwater 20 gal. tank ph over 6.2 fbarks Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-22-2006 12:55 AM
Fish unable to steady itself Scott1980 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 11-29-2005 02:47 PM
unable to upload leesanhua Forum Admin & Announcements 3 03-26-2005 07:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.