Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   General Hardware/Equipment Discussion (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/)
-   -   No skimmate being produced. Is that OK? (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/no-skimmate-being-produced-is-that-ok-129273.html)

Rickvn 05-08-2010 02:47 PM

No skimmate being produced. Is that OK?
 
Hi all. I have had my skimmer working fine for the last 7 or so months (when I set up my first marine tank). Up until a few days ago it produced dark, dirty skimate as I expected it would. But the last few days it is completely clear. I cleaned the pump and cup (loath to clean the skimmer barrel as I understand it has to mature in order to work correctly) and it produces great bubbles. But just now in spite of the barrel being full of tiny bubbles the skimmate is totally clean and not flowing up the riser into the cup. Does that mean that there is a problem? The only thing I have changed recently is adding a phosphate reactor. Can this be the cause and is it a problem? Thanks.

melosu58 05-08-2010 02:57 PM

Moved to general hardware and equipment discussion.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.