Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   General Hardware/Equipment Discussion (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/)
-   -   phosban reactor 150 help (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/phosban-reactor-150-help-158963.html)

Jereli 07-02-2011 05:25 PM

phosban reactor 150 help
 
So i am looking into buying a phosban reactor 150 by two little fishes... my question is what pump do you guys recommend using on this reactor .. just looking for a simple setup. I plan to run phosban and maybe carbon together.

mr_X 07-02-2011 07:25 PM

maxijet 400-
MJ400 Premium Aquatics - MJ400 Aquarium Supplies

Jereli 07-02-2011 07:42 PM

And would it be ok to run both carbon and phosban at the same time with that pump? Also if I was to only run one media will it still be ok? I thought i read somewhere that they required different flow rates..

Thanks

mr_X 07-02-2011 07:46 PM

well, they say the GFO needs to tumble a bit or it clumps up. i didn't have this issue, but i suppose it's possible.
carbon will work with fast or slow flow, so i'd say you'll be ok. what about the volume though? what size tank is this, and how much media are you expecting to use?

Jereli 07-02-2011 07:54 PM

Well as far as how much media to use I am not sure... I have never used a reactor before. I guess that would be my next question, how much media should I be using and how often should it be changed or washed.

I have a 60 gallon tank with 20 gallon sump.

mr_X 07-02-2011 07:57 PM

bulk reef supply has a lot of info about that.
Bulk packaged Granular ferric oxide GFO for aquariums - English
watch the vids.

Jereli 07-02-2011 09:14 PM

Great. Thanks that was exactly what I was looking for. So if I start running some gfo should I just remove my chaeto from my sump? And maybe add more rock instead

Jereli 07-03-2011 01:16 PM

My lfs told me to go with the via aqua 20/20 because it comes with everything.. What do u guys think?

Fishguy2727 07-03-2011 01:32 PM

Don't remove the chaeto, that is natural nutrient export. The GFO is just supplemental if the chaeto isn't enough.

I had a chain of three Phosban reactors on my reef. First had Carbon, second GFO, third Purigen.

bavass 07-03-2011 01:37 PM

I had my 2 phosban reactors both running on rio 90's they are hanging on my sump with the rio's just under them so there is not a lot head and low flow. Never had a problem. I had gfo in one and carbon in the other both were from Bulk Reef Supply. I have taken the GFO out and replaced with BioPellets.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.