Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Saltwater Reef Aquaria (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f11/)
-   -   Do I need A Filter to start cycling? (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f11/do-i-need-a-filter-to-start-cycling-177946.html)

CleverBs 11-09-2011 10:51 PM

Do I need A Filter to start cycling?
 
Do i need to use a filter to start cycling the tank?

I am going to buy my live rock soon and dont know if a filter is needed to start the process. I have a heater, tank, Power head, buying salt and sand next week, following week buying the rock. If needed I have a spong filter with a 10gallon pump I could use if needed.

There will be 45lbs of live rock in the tank.

Convict2161 11-09-2011 10:56 PM

I'm new but I'm gonna say yes you need a filter to cycle a tank.

Convict2161 11-09-2011 10:57 PM

Think of it like this. You set up a tank to cycle it and the water is just stagnant. Plus you want to build up beneficial bacteria in your filter media. Hope I'm on the right track.

CleverBs 11-09-2011 10:58 PM

I thought that the Rock was the main BB source in the tank and the filter was just there to collect particals and keep the water flowing. I have a Powerhead so the water would move still, the powerhead moves 1050 gallons an hour.

Convict2161 11-09-2011 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CleverBs
I thought that the Rock was the main BB source in the tank and the filter was just there to collect particals and keep the water flowing.

I could be wrong. I'm a newbie but I'm doing a lot of research. Hopefully someone else will chime in. Sorry.

CleverBs 11-09-2011 11:00 PM

well im new too haha just setting up my first tank well in the research process of it.

Convict2161 11-09-2011 11:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CleverBs
I thought that the Rock was the main BB source in the tank and the filter was just there to collect particals and keep the water flowing. I have a Powerhead so the water would move still, the powerhead moves 1050 gallons an hour.

I believe you may be right. You can cycle a SW tank with live rock. I read somewhere that after the tank is cycled you then fill the filter with the water. Again I'm new and Learning myself.

Convict2161 11-09-2011 11:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CleverBs
well im new too haha just setting up my first tank well in the research process of it.

Well good luck and welcome.

Hinds04 11-09-2011 11:05 PM

You don’t need a filter. You really don’t even need live rock to cycle a tank. The “good" bacteria that cycles a tank is on basically every surface in the world. Now, that said, live rock will add to the diversity of bacteria and speed the cycling process. All you should get is a powerhead, live rock, and sand (doesnt have to be live) dry sand is much cheaper and cleaner.

Gti_Leo 11-09-2011 11:06 PM

thats if you use rock in your tank. some go with a fish only and you will require skimmers and other filtration methods


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.