Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f24/)
-   -   flourite (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f24/flourite-229137.html)

vance1013 10-14-2012 08:06 PM

flourite
 
I plan using flourite to set up my 5g tank do i need yo rinse it first? And any other advice would be great

Aquatic_Adam 10-14-2012 08:14 PM

Yep! You should indeed wash it. It's gonna be cloudy when you set it up regardless :(

vance1013 10-14-2012 08:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Predfan27
Yep! You should indeed wash it. It's gonna be cloudy when you set it up regardless :(

Ok thank you any other advise on this substrate

Aquatic_Adam 10-14-2012 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vance1013

Ok thank you any other advise on this substrate

Ummmm nope!

Water changes until the water clears up. Other than that. Plant your plants and they will love it! A great plant dedicated substrate. Good luck!

vance1013 10-14-2012 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Predfan27

Ummmm nope!

Water changes until the water clears up. Other than that. Plant your plants and they will love it! A great plant dedicated substrate. Good luck!

Ok lol thank you

Ljk09 10-15-2012 02:02 AM

On another thread I read you still need to dose the aquarium with a fertilizer. The substrate doesn't give that evidently.

vance1013 10-15-2012 02:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ljk09
On another thread I read you still need to dose the aquarium with a fertilizer. The substrate doesn't give that evidently.

Ok thank you ill look into that

Ljk09 10-15-2012 02:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vance1013

Ok thank you ill look into that

You're welcome :) the only reason I know that (well, took someone else's expertise) is because I'm using it as a cap in dirt tank

vance1013 10-15-2012 02:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ljk09

You're welcome :) the only reason I know that (well, took someone else's expertise) is because I'm using it as a cap in dirt tank

Ah ok makes sense lol ive read it has a high cec which helps absorb nutrients from the waste

Ljk09 10-15-2012 02:13 AM

Yes. It doesn't have fertilizers. At least that's what I was told.

vance1013 10-15-2012 02:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ljk09
Yes. It doesn't have fertilizers. At least that's what I was told.

Just been reading the same lol

nereksnad 10-15-2012 03:39 AM

greetings.

just last week i switched to a plant substrate too, but mine was a clay/spagnum mix that had to be placed below the normal gravel, the gravel acting as a barrier. i had no cloudiness at all so i would recommend you do the same, but it seems flourite is a clay/1-2mm pebble mix, seems odd to me to not let the customer decide how to mix it or use it imo.

sincerely,
nereksnad.

vance1013 10-15-2012 03:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nereksnad
greetings.

just last week i switched to a plant substrate too, but mine was a clay/spagnum mix that had to be placed below the normal gravel, the gravel acting as a barrier. i had no cloudiness at all so i would recommend you do the same, but it seems flourite is a clay/1-2mm pebble mix, seems odd to me to not let the customer decide how to mix it or use it imo.
sincerely,
nereksnad.

Ill keep that in mind thank you and it can be odd how things are done

AquaticMike 10-15-2012 04:18 PM

I would wait a while to dose ferts. I started dosing 2-3 weeks into a new tank with fluorite substrate and it caused my diatom bloom that was previously dormant to explode. There will plenty of nutrients in the water column without ferts for the first 4-6 weeks. After that a dosing regiment could defiantly improve growth.

vance1013 10-15-2012 04:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AquaticMike
I would wait a while to dose ferts. I started dosing 2-3 weeks into a new tank with fluorite substrate and it caused my diatom bloom that was previously dormant to explode. There will plenty of nutrients in the water column without ferts for the first 4-6 weeks. After that a dosing regiment could defiantly improve growth.

Thats good to know thank you

vance1013 10-17-2012 02:11 AM

2 Attachment(s)
So i added the flourite even after rinsing rinsing and more rinsing i think i missed a couple pockets lol should i just let it sit and settle before adding the filter or can i run my bubbler over night would the help clear it up

Attachment 125493



Attachment 125494

Ljk09 10-17-2012 02:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vance1013
So i added the flourite even after rinsing rinsing and more rinsing i think i missed a couple pockets lol should i just let it sit and settle before adding the filter or can i run my bubbler over night would the help clear it up

IMO (I'm not an expert) I think it would be ok to run your filter.

vance1013 10-17-2012 02:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ljk09

IMO (I'm not an expert) I think it would be ok to run your filter.

Ok thank you

jetajockey 10-17-2012 02:26 AM

The amount of ferts available in the water column is highly dependent on your water source and plant density/lighting scheme.

I'd do some big water changes to clear the water up. You could run the filter as well to help, but you'll need to rinse it out periodically.

vance1013 10-17-2012 02:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jetajockey
The amount of ferts available in the water column is highly dependent on your water source and plant density/lighting scheme.

I'd do some big water changes to clear the water up. You could run the filter as well to help, but you'll need to rinse it out periodically.

Thank you jeta ill keep up on that


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.