Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   TDS meter (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/tds-meter-296611.html)

jjh302 02-04-2014 09:42 AM

TDS meter
 
Has anyone had any experience with the HM TDS-3 Meter? I just ordered one from eBay for 18.00.

mrvincent 02-05-2014 12:29 PM

I just ordered one for 12$. They're cheap and accurate, TDS meter is a conductivity test like.

Why you would use it ? To mesure tap ? Do you owned a RODI unit ?

My tap is 100ppm TDS and my RODI produce <1ppm TDS.

jjh302 02-05-2014 12:48 PM

I don't have an rodi yet. I want to test the distilled water that I use and the local grocery store water machine.

mrvincent 02-05-2014 12:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jjh302 (Post 2821677)
I don't have an rodi yet. I want to test the distilled water that I use and the local grocery store water machine.

Ahhhh it should be <1ppm. Make sure you rinse and rerinse the container you'll use to do the test with the distilled water in question.

If it's not <1ppm, then it's scam water, or maybe they remineralize the water before they sell it to be drinkable.

I found a cheap used 80$ RODI nasty/dirty unit, but it still produce <1ppm TDS water :)

jjh302 02-05-2014 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrvincent (Post 2821687)
Ahhhh it should be <1ppm. Make sure you rinse and rerinse the container you'll use to do the test with the distilled water in question.

If it's not <1ppm, then it's scam water, or maybe they remineralize the water before they sell it to be drinkable.

I found a cheap used 80$ RODI nasty/dirty unit, but it still produce <1ppm TDS water :)


Nice! I have my eye on a 5 stage unit that comes with a booster pump and an inline TDS. BRS sells it for around 200. I'm waiting until later this month for the group buy so I can save a little dough.

mrvincent 02-05-2014 01:05 PM

You'll need booster pump only if your tap pressure is not enough. 3-4 stage is enough.

Mecanical + carbon + RO unit. You can add the fourth stage DI part...

Or get as you said a kind of Mech+chem+chem+ro+di

In my case it's a kind of old RODI unit 6 stages
Mech+chem+mech+ro+antitaste+di.

I plan to remove the antitase thing, I don't want to pay for this, so I'll get 5 stages:
mech+chem+chem+ro+di.

The chem part is important, as free chlorine kills the thin ro membrane.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.