Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Cichlid Discussion (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f100/)
-   -   Shock in my tank (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f100/shock-in-my-tank-306274.html)

Zactheninja 04-14-2014 01:36 AM

Shock in my tank
 
The other day I put my hand in my 240 chiclid tank and felt a bit of a shock, I went through each piece of equipment and couldn't feel the shock after I unplugged everything.
So I plugged everything back in and all was well.
Tonight I felt the same shock, unplugged everything and then plugged in one at a time each thing, no shock. Done, nothing.

It's happened twice so I assume it might happen again, but I can't seem to find anything wrong.

And I'm worried about how the chiclids will be affected if I don't catch it early again and the shock goes on for any period of time.

A grounding prob sounds like a band aid but would it help?

Thank you everyone.

Zactheninja 04-14-2014 01:40 AM

Also the fish were acting 100% normal when I noticed both times.

agrasyuk 04-14-2014 01:49 AM

perhaps static build up? do you get similar sensation touching things around house?
its still heating season here in chicagoland so i get to feel this quite a bit :(

Leonardo7689 04-14-2014 03:07 AM

Do you have a ground probe in the tank? It's a must have (at least in my tanks) since it does prevent stray voltage from your equipments. Hence stops the electrocution. They're not that pricey either. Just my thought

Hondatek 04-14-2014 07:34 PM

Make sure your heater is actually on while testing it out. Your fish will not be harmed unless the tank is grounded by a probe.

Zactheninja 04-16-2014 12:56 AM

I don't have a probe in the tank, yes or no on getting one?

RackinRocky 04-16-2014 01:44 AM

I get static shocks just about every time I touch the water in my tanks, but its very, very dry here, and I get shocked on door knobs, etc. all the time too.

Hondatek 04-16-2014 09:02 AM

I would not add a grounding probe . Just make sure everything is plugged into a protected outlet .


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.