Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   Can I start my skimmer? And can I clean my filters? (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/can-i-start-my-skimmer-and-can-i-clean-my-filters-47606.html)

zacdl 04-16-2005 10:07 AM

Can I start my skimmer? And can I clean my filters?
 
Can I start my protein skimmer?

My cycle is done, the shrimp is almost gone, either today or Monday I will need to go get a fish to keep the ammonia going.

Can I also clean my filters out?

EJS4 04-16-2005 01:15 PM

Yes to the proteins skimmer.
On the filters if its the floss type and its dirty I would.

zacdl 04-16-2005 02:02 PM

Um I have a problem...
When I first started my skimmer it was doing fine.

I added those fish, and when aclimating I lost some water, so I did a waterchange anyway, so I added some salt.

When I added the salt I looked at the skimmer and it seems like the bubble level is lower (too low) And even when I open the air pump up all the way, it is still too low. Is this normal when adding salt?

EJS4 04-16-2005 02:51 PM

What is your SG?
From your post it sounds like you added salt to the tank. You should always mix it water and salt in container adjust your SG, then add it to tank.
Not sure if its normal. Check the air hose sometimes they get clogged with salt which reduces the air flow.

malkore 04-16-2005 03:18 PM

never add salt directly to the tank. new saltwater must be aged at least 12 hours, 24 hrs preferred, before you dump it into your display tank.

anytime you do anything to the water in your tank, you can affect skimming. Also, don't add any 'stress coat/slime coat enhancers'...they aren't necessary, and usually make your skimmer go ballistic.

arminkropp 04-16-2005 03:27 PM

Re: Can I start my skimmer? And can I clean my filters?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zacdl
Can I start my protein skimmer?

My cycle is done, the shrimp is almost gone, either today or Monday I will need to go get a fish to keep the ammonia going.

Can I also clean my filters out?

Ummmm.....You DONT want to keep your ammonia going!
Once your tank is cycled you should have your ammonia at 0!
if you see ammonia its usually cause something caused a mini cycle again.
adding too many fish, adding uncured LR are just a couple thing that might do that.

zacdl 04-16-2005 04:36 PM

It seems that it is getting bigger again...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.