Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   General Hardware/Equipment Discussion (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/)
-   -   Higher GPH for skimmer (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f60/higher-gph-for-skimmer-64015.html)

natman2 11-27-2005 12:17 AM

Higher GPH for skimmer
 
I have a skimmer right now that is rated for 150 gallon tank with a surge pump that puts out 660gph that came with the skimmer.

I have a spare rio pump that is rated for 960GPH. I was thinking of attaching that to the present skimmer. Any benefit to going overkill like this with your skimmer pump?

theatrus 11-27-2005 12:43 AM

Depending on the skimmer, some will produce more output, and some will overflow. Give it a shot :)

natman2 11-27-2005 01:45 PM

works and works much better at that. Only draw back is a tad wetter skim. On the other hand I can make it real wet if need be.

IndyReefMan 11-27-2005 03:47 PM

Sometimes increasing the flow will not allow enough contact time between the water and the bubbles which can actually decrease the efficiency of the skimmer. It just depends on the type of skimmer that you are using. I "turbo-charged" my Aqua-C Remora Pro by drilling a small hole and feeding an airline into the reaction chamber and driving a limewood airstone with it. It increased the efficiency to the point where it produces about twice as much dark skimmate as it did when it was stock.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.