Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community

Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/)
-   Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/)
-   -   PH problem (http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f14/ph-problem-92237.html)

rubikcube 03-02-2007 12:07 PM

My point is that the pH shouldn't change in a covered bucket due to gas exchange because there isn't any gas exchange in a closed system. In any case, it definitely shouldn't change by that much, even with a very high concentration of CO2.

Devilishturtles 03-02-2007 12:26 PM

I agree with Micah, Kurt, and roka64. A closed tub/aquarium promotes the build up of CO2 (or just prevention of the loss of it) and the loss of O2, which is why open systems are preferred. The article that Micah linked by Farley-Holmes is pretty good at explaining the importance of open air.

Could it cause a drop from 8.2 to 7.6? I don't know, but it might be something to look into, definitley, before you try anything else.

Frogspawn 03-02-2007 02:54 PM

thanks guys the tank is not coverd the whole way. the lid that came with the te tank has a another peice on it as well i took off the part that flips up. so what i am left with is a peice of glass about 6inchs long . i place that right under the light to help out so i dont get sw splash on the new light. as far as the ruber maid tub being closed it is empty there in that picture. i pour all of the water i had in the tank befor writing this post.
i have not added anything to the new tank no buffers no nothing. i am going to give it a wile an see what happens i am placeing the LR in there tomarrow and flixing my Refuge problem
so i will give it a week to see if the PH stablizes any.
thanks again for all the post.

MT79 03-02-2007 03:04 PM

Quote:

now i know u guys are going to say add buffers. i been that route too with my 55.
Reef Crystasl already has 4 meg/l Alk which is more than enough. Buffering will only affect PH temporarily depending on what's used. It is very possible you have a lot of CO2 bult up in your house. This is most common in the winter when the heaters running and the windows are kept shut. Try placing a sample of the water your testing outside w/ a little airation/circulation. If the PH goes upto normal range after an hour or two, you know it's the air in the house cuasing the ph problem-assuming your turnover, surface aggitation are good.

MT79 03-02-2007 03:09 PM

Quote:

pH isn't affected by O2 concentration.
A drop in O2 will cause a drop in PH. Having good air exchange prevents the drop in O2.

tecwzrd 03-02-2007 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frogspawn
i will give it a week to see if the PH stabilizes any.

FWIW tanks can sometimes take months to fully stabilize when it comes to PH.

rubikcube 03-02-2007 04:37 PM

I know it seems like I'm splitting hairs, but the difference is important. O2 has nothing to do with pH. An aquarium with inadequate aeration usually has an excess(when compared to the atmosphere) of CO2 due to fish respiration. When you aerate, the excess CO2 is driven out resulting in a rise in pH.

Frogspawn 03-02-2007 04:48 PM

ok. i am going to buy a maxi jet 900 today maybe even 2 of them. going to have one pointed at the top for a good surface ripple for O2. Now. lets say i do have a high source of CO2 in my home. how could i fix it in my Aquarium? i heard plants use CO2 to grow. is this correct? if so i will put some in my refuge.(i was going to any way)

Has any one else had a problem with keeping there PH stable?

also i will take a sample of water to the Local fish store tomorrow and check my test kit against theirs.

MT79 03-02-2007 04:55 PM

The easiest way to lower the CO2 is to open a window close to the tank for a few minutes periodically. If that doesn't work or is not possible, other more involved solutions may be needed.

MT79 03-02-2007 05:03 PM

Quote:

i heard plants use CO2 to grow. is this correct? if
Just about anything photosynthetic does. That is why PH increases when the lights are on-Co2 levels decrease. That is not a long term solution, you will still have the PH issue.

Quote:

Has any one else had a problem with keeping there PH stable?
Yes at first. As tecwzrd pointed out new tanks will have low PH, but your make up water should be fine. That is why I think you may have high Co2 levels in your house.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.