Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » HOB (Hang On Back) Filters  

Hagen AquaClear - 300/70
Reviews Views Date of last review
5 139956 8/26/2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $25.00 7.6




Description: Absolutly love it. Never had a problem. Costomizable media. Adjustable flow rate. Its just great.
Keywords: AquaClear - 300/70 Hang on back filter
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Posts: 380
Registered: April 2004
Location: New Orleans, Louisana, USA



Author
BettaLadys
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: November 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 14
Review Date: 5/17/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: seperate carbon and sponge
Cons: None

I like this because you can change the media seperately to ensure half of your bio filter stays intact through cleaning. I recently modified mine to be a refugium and it works great in this capacity also.

------------------------------
Betta Ladys, two ladys just 'doing their thing' offering quality bettas and other fishy friends!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pegleg
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: November 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Review Date: 12/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very effective filtration
Cons: have to unplug to turn off... no on off switch.

This is one of the best power HOB filters you can by. The aquaclear is very effective filter with many options to customize the media for chemical, mechanical and biological filtration. I have two 70's running on my 55 gallon tank.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mbilyou
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: April 2007
Review Date: 9/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Moves lots of water, separate media
Cons: tiny bit loud

I like the massive amount of filter media compared to other brands with cartriges, and it is small compared to other HOB's rated to the same size.

It is really only loud when I am trying to sleep, it is the only thing I can hear in my room, but it is still quieter than my laptop fan...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kuziaaaa
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: June 2007
Review Date: 11/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Large media capacity, lots of water movement, well priced
Cons: Get some bypass around the intake

I have this on my 20 gallon with a high bioload, along with a sponge filter. It runs with no trouble, never clogs. A bit of water always bypasses around the intake, but not a big deal. Many media options; I have bioballs and filter floss in mine. An affordable HOB filter that does an excellent job-reliably. I will be swapping out my Penguin 330 (blech on the biowheels) for an AC 110 when I upgrade to a 75 from the 55.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Hanoi-Rocks
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: November 2008
Review Date: 8/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Price
Cons: Is not self starting

Buy this filter if don't care about your fish.
This filter does not self start. If the power blinks and you are away from home. Your fish could die.
I have two of these and looking to replace them.

Many times I find my power had blinked off and my fish are starving for air because these do not restart. They get clogged easy also. I took mine apart and cleaned it 3 times in one week. It's maybe one year old.
Self starters is very important for the lives of your fish because you can't watch them every minute.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.