Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Lighting » Power Compact (Compact Florecent)  
12064d8_1_b.jpg

Odyssea Odyssea 48" Pc 260 light and lunar
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 136851 9/13/2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $108.00 8.0
12064d8_1_b.jpg

12064d8_1_b.jpg
supersize


Description: Dimension: 47 1/2" X 8" X 2 3/4"

Aquarium power compact fixture for fresh and saltwater aquarium use.
Sleek Aluminium Housing in black finish.
High quality light reflector.
2x Bulti-in fans
3x ON/OFF power switches.
Add on lunar lights
Keywords: odyssea pc power compact
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Posts: 264
Registered: December 2005
Location: Pleasant Gorve, Utah



Author
karn
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: September 2006
Posts: 2
Review Date: 12/31/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $125.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, Good for Starters.
Cons: bad cooling system.

My parents bought it on ebay. Shipment broke a lot of bulbs. When i got for christmas, i set it up and saw it did a great job but it got hot, im mean really hot, and the two tiny fans didnt do that well and having a temp. sensor the hotter it got it seem to start to rattle. When i got my canopy, i realize this was not going to work. so i install 2 cpu fan to blow cool air around and this keeps the fixture cooler even if there was no canopy. But the moon lights look great.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Rewirtonv
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: October 2007
Review Date: 8/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good price, nice setup (multiple cords/switches)
Cons: insufficient cooling

I purchased this on Ebay. As far as I can tell, this is a great fixture in almost every way. The exception being that the cooling is completely insufficient. There is just not enough fan power to cool down the bulbs at all. I have this mounted inside an enclosed wooden canopy, so the heat does not have anywhere to bleed off to. I had to install a computer fan to minimize the heat. The lunar lights are a nice touch, however, I think there should be at least 2 more. Although I am not using the legs, they seem to be too wide for my tank (48" 75g). Overall, this is a very worthwhile lighting system for a beginner.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Big Ben
Aquarium Advice Freak

Registered: March 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 255
Review Date: 9/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $91.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great light, good leg stands, great for the beginner with low funds...
Cons: A bit noisy, fans could have been better placed.

I currently have 1 on my 55G and 2 on my 75G and love them. Even though they are a little noisy, it doesn't bother me much. I've did some DIY to keep them a little quieter, which helps. I purchased them off Ebay, and all bulbs were in perfect shape, nothing broken on all 3 fixtures.

------------------------------
February 2006: 10 gallon. June 2006: 48 gallon. April 2007: 20 gallon. July 2008 155 gallon. When I move out it's going to be scary
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.