Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » HOB (Hang On Back) Filters  
aquaclear50.jpg

Hagen Aqua Clear 50
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 145632 12/28/2011
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $30.77 None indicated
aquaclear50.jpg

aquaclear50.jpg
supersize


Description: The AquaClear 50 Power Filter provides mechanical, chemical and biological filtration through its multi-stage filtration system. Filtration volume is up to 7 times larger than comparable Filters. Its unique design filters aquarium water through a natural and silent waterfall. The patented flow control feature allows for customized filter performance. The filter preserves beneficial bacterial creating a stress free environment for aquarium inhabitants and maintains clear aquarium water. Installation and maintenance are quick, easy and convenience. The filter comes equipped with AquaClear Foam, Activated Carbon and BioMax. In addition, AquaClear delivers an entire line of media including Zeo-Carb and Ammonia Remover exclusively designed for the AquaClear Power Filter. The AquaClear 50 Power Filter is ideal for use in 20-50 US gallon (76-190L) aquariums.

- For 20 - 50 U.S. Gal aquariums
- Maximum Output: 757 L/h (200 U.S. Gal./h)
- Full Flow Control: 250 L/h (66 U.S. Gal./h)
- Power Consumption: 6 W
- Maximum Aquarium Capacity: 189 L (50 U.S. Gal.)
- AquaClear is backed by a lifetime guarantee
- Flow Control: Simply shift the patented "Flow Adjustment Control" at the the intake siphon. When the "Flow Adjustment Control" is at its greatest blockage, AquaClear's input and exhaust volumes are approximately a third of its maximum capacity.
Keywords: ac50 aqua clear hagen hob filter ac 50 aquaclear 200
AA Team Emeritus
 
Posts: 6,067
Registered: October 2006



Author
meegosh
AA Team Emeritus

Registered: October 2006
Posts: 6067
Review Date: 9/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $24.99 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Fairly cheap, reliable, cheap replacement parts, adjustable flow rate
Cons: None so far.

I have been running one of these for approx 5 months now and it is by far my favorite filter. It runs very quiet and does its job well. The adjustable flow rate is a nice touch also. Replacement parts are easy to come by if needed. You can just use some polyfiber instead of buying their expensive replacement foam inserts.

Overall a great product and would buy again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
plecoperson
Aquarium Advice Addict

Registered: April 2006
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1245
Review Date: 9/19/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $43.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Quiet, good water turnover, flexible media options, CHEAP!
Cons: I get quite a lot of bypass, even with just-cleaned media, wish it were more adjustable.

As above. I find the "adjustment" for the water flow to be pretty limited. The water bypassing the media irritating, but it churns enough H20 that it still does what I need it to do.

------------------------------
-Lisa

Remember that Darwin was mostly right!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
gheitman
Aquarium Advice Addict

Registered: October 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1260
Review Date: 10/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $39.89 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: simple, flexible media options, reliable, easy to use
Cons: none

I have one of these on a 29 gallon tank as well as an AC 20 on a 10 gallon tank. With each I replaced the carbon insert with another sponge since the tanks are planted. I rinse the filter media in tank water once a month and they have been very reliable so far.

------------------------------
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ElvisMinnow
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: October 2008
Posts: 18
Review Date: 12/4/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Quiet, powerful, by design lots of filtration, various media used(and more options)
Cons: Have not found any...

I don't have much to add to the other positive reviews. I like HOB filters, I don't know why, and this is a quality HOB unit. My water is fantastic compared to how it has been with the vertical media bag units that I have used. You should rinse off/out all of the media every couple of weeks, as this thing really filters a lot of stuff out. A lot.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
nanoluvr
Aquarium Advice Freak

Registered: January 2009
Location: Coldspring, TX
Posts: 482
Review Date: 1/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Ease of use. Longlasting
Cons:

I have 2 of the 50's . Very reliable. just rinse filter midia avery 2 weeks, and change carbon once a month

------------------------------
Jeff
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fairghum
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: April 2003
Location: Central Oregon, USA
Posts: 18
Review Date: 6/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Reliable, clean exceedingly well
Cons:

I have been using these filters (I have 3 50's and 1 20) for several years. I feel they do a much better job of cleaning and aerating than the Whispers I used before. Foster & Smith has "generic" replacements for carbon, sponge, etc. at very low prices. I only replace the sponge when the thing falls apart (although I rinse it monthly). I also clean the impellers every month as well. Am very pleased with them.

------------------------------
Jude
"If there are no dogs in heaven, then I want to go where they go". Will Rogers
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dr. Scroggins..
Aquarium Advice Freak

Registered: December 2009
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 234
Review Date: 8/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: decent price, quiet, reliable
Cons: ...

i use this power head in my planted 55 gal for CO2 diffusion. i run my CO2 through an air stone, which i've stuck into the intake of the power head, it does an amazing job of dispersing hundreds of thousands of tiny CO2 bubbles. more range in the adjustable flow rate would be nice, but then you could have just bought the next model up or down... this has been a great power head for me.

------------------------------
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fishman3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Registered: March 2011
Location: TX panhandle
Posts: 215
Review Date: 12/28/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $22.50 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: durable, quiet, reliable
Cons: ...

kept my water crystal clear on my 29 gallon tank with ease
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.