Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » HOB (Hang On Back) Filters  
4721TtPF500_268.jpg

Tetra-Tec Tetra-Tec PF500
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 138199 1/29/2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
71% of reviewers $65.00 7.4
4721TtPF500_268.jpg

4721TtPF500_268.jpg
supersize


Description: Tetratec® PF 500

Tetratec® Power Filters are today‘s most advanced power filters. The breakthrough “Living Filter” technology provides a superior combination of surface area and oxygen exchange, and the optional integrated Tetratec® Heating Capsule heats water as it passes through the filter. Add the unique Pro II filter cartridges, and the Tetratec® Power Filter is today’s state of the art.

Tetratec® Power Filter Selection Guide
PF 150 PF 300 PF 500
Pro II Size: Regular (2) Regular (4) XL (4)
Aquarium Size: Up to 30 Gal 30 to 60 Gal 60 to 100 Gal
GPH: 150 GPH 300 GPH 500 GPH
Width: 9” 14” 18”
Available Heater: 100 watt 200 watt 200 watt
Warranty: **Lifetime Limited Warranty**
* If your aquarium contains a large number of fish or live plants then consider the next size filter



Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Posts: 656
Registered: February 2004
Location: Crete Illinois



Author
melbourne0
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2004
Location: Somers, NY
Review Date: 8/8/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $69.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Inexpensive and readily avaiable at most pet stores
Cons: Cleaning the filter box. Pump motor design could be upgraded.

I started my 125 gallon tank with two of these filters. They work very good. A bit noisy at times as the water level begins to go down. Filters are readily available at most pet store and are roughly the same everywhere in price with the exception of on-line stores.

The only drawback I have experienced with this filter is the design for the pump motor. It locks onto the bottom of the filter box with a "half twist". What it connects to is very thin and if not careful putting it back together after cleaning can break easily. The filter box will leak from that point on. I was able to fix it with epoxy but it really needs to be improved in that area.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BettaLadys
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: November 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 14
Review Date: 8/10/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wet/dry foam insert area.in filter heater to heat all water evenly
Cons: none so far have two for 11 months

Love it. No problems and you can use with or without carbon/zeolite. Also has room for extra bag of media in the box. I also have the 200w heater in each of mine and have great results with even heating of the tank.

------------------------------
Betta Ladys, two ladys just 'doing their thing' offering quality bettas and other fishy friends!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
studiopro
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: December 2004
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Posts: 3
Review Date: 8/18/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: I couldn't really find any pros for this filter
Cons: there are too many

I bought this filter, thougt it would be good, like the box said it would.

The filter was very noisy, yeah yeah great, it has a flow controller and the water level goes up and down inside the filter. Big whooppiiee. too much noise, everytime the darn thing needs air.

Second, after 2 weeks of usage, the filter started leaking, from the cartirages being too dirty or something. The filter just plain simply overflowed all over my living room.

So I took it back to the store and returned it and got myself the emperor. The good ole trusted emperor.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bbrown
Aquarium Advice Regular

Registered: March 2005
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 62
Review Date: 11/30/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $65.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros:
Cons: Excessively noisy, construction seemed cheap

After runing this filter for 15 minutes I was convinced that I didn't want it. The quarter twist mount on the bottom for the magnetic drive was just waiting to have a leak and overall the filter design did not inspire confidence. I return this and purchased an Eheim 2215 and have never looked back.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Adzatious
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: August 2004
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 12
Review Date: 2/14/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: inexpensive and easy to use
Cons: it's a little noisy

I've used this product for two years and it's still going strong. Although it is a bit loud, it's a strong filter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bullitzx2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 18
Review Date: 2/1/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 500 gph flow rate.. X-large media
Cons: because of strong pump/flowrate..light noise

i have many tanks and this is the strongest best (Hang On Back) filter i have seen.. i have many penguin 350s and this is more powerful than 2 of them by itself (tested on 75 gallon oscar tank)
the media surface space is huge and also the surface/air exchange.. The person i bought mine from said it was WAY more powerful than an emperor 400.. I didn't believe it until I hooked it up.. im a believer now... I have a friend who uses one (along w/ other filtration) on a 250 gallon tank and he loves it too (he also uses/loves the built in heater)... One thing about power filters is that they can easily become damaged during shipping & handling.. 3 different penguin 350s i bought (from different places) were damaged... so the problems people have had may partially have been caused by s&h

bottom line if u have large messy fish like oscars and need POWER and heavy duty filtration I highly recomend this filter
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
paulklug
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: July 2005
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1
Review Date: 1/29/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wet dry filter; looks; layout and design; heater in filter
Cons: none

good filter. plain old kicks butt when filtering. i got the 150 model. setting up and keeping the siphon going is a llittle tricky but can be done. i like the idea. its not a conformity styl;e filter like the aquaclears and whispers. this is truly new. recommended!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.