Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters  
716835afc2ced51e9a020fb035bf4cc1f559.jpg

AQUARIUM SYSTEMS SeaClone® protein skimmer
Reviews Views Date of last review
9 141154 4/8/2005
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
78% of reviewers $90.84 5.9
716835afc2ced51e9a020fb035bf4cc1f559.jpg

716835afc2ced51e9a020fb035bf4cc1f559.jpg
supersize


Description: seaclone protean skimmer
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Registered: June 2004
Location: OC, CA



Author
MikeyB
Aquarium Advice Regular

Registered: January 2005
Location: Titusville FL
Posts: 89
Review Date: 10/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $99.95 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: easy to set-up and very relyable
Cons: price

works well and has good instructions
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
cializa
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: November 2004
Location: Newfoundland Canada
Review Date: 10/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $99.95 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Easy to put together.
Cons: Hard to get adjusted.

This product was easy to put together and setup. But after 3-4 weeks I have to make adjustments daily in order to get this product to produce anything. If I could find where my wife put the reciept I would take it back to Petsmart.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ffb_boi
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: March 2005
Location: Spokane, Wa.
Posts: 3
Review Date: 11/13/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: it's easy to put together.
Cons: you have to constantly adjust the air vale to get the bubbles.

It seems the power head is the cuprit that causes the bubbles to break up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
PrObLeM_ChIlD
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: September 2003
Location: Washington
Review Date: 1/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $89.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Versitile- hang on, or in sump setup
Cons: ...

Good skimmer for the money. I have this on my 30g Reef and it pulls all kinds of junk for me. Also you can use it as a hang on, or put directly in your sump or tank. Thumbs up from me.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
griz7674
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
Review Date: 1/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: works AT TIMES
Cons: crappy adjustment of venturi, too little reaction time

okay product if MODIFIED (search "seaclone modifications" on google) and ADJUSTED regularly...a real PITA.
dont buy unless you are a majician and can get it to magically work.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fburton
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2005
Location: Georgia
Review Date: 1/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $67.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: work good
Cons: none

i paid 67.99
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
flambore
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2005
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 9
Review Date: 1/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $90.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Should be named SeaClown

I owned four of these before going with a new product. Spoke directly with Rep who said they've had some bad batches.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ceratophyllum
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: July 2005
Location: New Port Richey, Fl
Posts: 20
Review Date: 2/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $109.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I bought one of these about a week ago. I can not get it to produce any waste at all. I have had it running for 4 days now, and have maybe a table spoon of waste. No matter how it is set, it seems to do nothing. I plan on returning it this week....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
slamber
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: September 2005
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 1
Review Date: 4/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Works when fine tuned properly
Cons: Noisy, micro bubbles during initial setup

It takes some tinkering but once I find the "spot" I don't really have to mess with the airflow to get this skimmer to start working. Initially I used this skimmer hanging on the back of the aquarium and during the initial "break in" the microbubbles drove me crazy. Adding water conditioner can also create this problem. After a few weeks it began producing foam and the bubbles stopped. Now I have it in my sump and the bubbles aren't a big issue. It does take time to properly fine tune this skimmer but once I've found the correct mix I don't have to mess with this at all. Not bad, you get what you pay for. And on my budget it does the trick.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.