Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » HOB (Hang On Back) Filters  
7481Penguin330.jpg

Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel 330
Reviews Views Date of last review
6 132429 9/5/2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $41.99 7.7
7481Penguin330.jpg

7481Penguin330.jpg


Description: The Marineland Penguin BIO-Wheel 330 power filter hangs on the back of the aquarium and is designed for tanks up to 70 gallons in size. It provides biological, chemical and mechanical filtration through the use of two filter cartridges with activated carbon (aka "Rite-Size Filter Cartridges", two rotating bacteria culture media (aka "BIO-Wheels" and two media baskets (aka "BIO-Baskets". The filter provides a flow rate of 330 gallons per hour and this can be reduced by moving the intake tube.
Keywords: marineland penguin bio-wheel power filter
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Posts: 0
Registered: July 2004
Location: indiana



Author
Vox
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: February 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 14
Review Date: 11/20/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: reliable, powerful output, flexible filtration options
Cons: limited flow control

Prior to purchasing the Penguin BIO-Wheel 330 I had previously used the Penguin BIO-Wheel 170 and the Tetratec PF150. The Penguin 170 I still use on a 29 gallon tank while the 330 I used to replace the PF150. I wanted the Penguin 330 for several reasons including the low cost compared to alternatives such as canister filters, the biological filtration offered by two BIO-Wheels, the flexibility offered by the two media baskets, the fact that the same filter cartridges worked in both the 170 and the 330, the noise generated by the PF150 was too loud and after more than a year of use I found the PF150's "Living Filter" chamber to require frequent readjustment for it to function properly. I've had the 330 for six months now and it is everything that I wanted. I put it on my 30 gallon planted aquarium and, because it is a bit overrated for my tank, I adjusted the intake tube to reduce the flow rate slightly. I filled the two media baskets with Seachem's Matrix biological media. People not using this on a planted aquarium could put Marineland's Black Diamond activated carbon in the media baskets for increased chemical filtration. The filter is very quiet (if you keep the water level in the aquarium high enough to avoid the filter output from splashing) and it is self priming in case of temporary power loss. The only thing negative I can say about this filter is that I wish there was a better adjustment of the flow rate. Moving the intake tube up and down only provides a limited ability to change the water flow. If this were more important I could have just purchased Marineland's higher-end Emperor 280 or 400 power filter instead. I recommend this filter to anyone wanting good filtration on a tank from 30 to 55 gallons (70 gallons if not stocked too highly) in size.

(Please note that as the BIO-Wheels accumulate aerobic bacteria, after weeks or months of use, their spinning will slow down and even temporarily stop for a second or two. This is normal and should not be a concern.)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
maryann28
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2005
Location: MI USA
Posts: 6
Review Date: 1/9/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet, reliable and effective. Easy to change filter media.
Cons: None than I can think of



------------------------------
55 gal tank
4 angels
balla shark
8 guppies
2 gold fish
2 gourami
5 little zebra
about 9 others that I am not sure of (llitle fishys)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
grant116
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: September 2004
Location: Kansas
Posts: 32
Review Date: 2/10/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $34.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Biowheels, Media Baskets, Adjustable Length of Intake Tube
Cons: Noise, Overstated Filtration Capacity, Small Size of Media Baskets

Like most HOB filters it takes all of 3 seconds to set up, which is nice. Maintenance is also relatively easy.
The Biowheels are a nice touch and really enhance the filtration capabilities of the filter. However, if your water line drops at all in your tank, the sound emmitted from the filter due to the biowheel is extremely loud.
The Media Baskets are also a nice touch, however the baskets are simply too small insert anything but extra carbon or another form of chemical filtration. It would have been a huge upgrade if the media baskets were just a little bit bigger in order to be able to hold ceramic rings and other forms of excess biological filtration.
One major problem I have with the filter is how overstated the filtration capacity is for the filter. There is no way it can be the only filter on a 55 gallon normally stocked aquarium much less a 70 gallon. The 330 gph is also highly overstated.
I really liked the intake tube extension piece. It's nice to be able to switch the filter between shorter and deeper tanks easily without forcing the intake tube to be only at one depth.
Overall, it's a good filter and works well and I would recommend it. Just be aware of some of the drawbacks and limitations.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
ncfishboy
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: June 2006
Review Date: 10/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: cheap and super easy to clean
Cons: clogs

I have had this filter on a densely populated 29 Gallon community tank for over 2 years now. The fish I have in there create a lot of mess and this filter keeps it manageable. Cleaning is simple, you can literally hose it off if you need to, just avoid the power supply at the bottom. It’s construction is decent, it will not break on you with normal use, and the filter system (2 filters and 2 baskets each with a bio wheel) leave you plenty of room to experiment. I found simple medium rocks from an old tank caught some real nasty big things. The only problem I have with this filter is the main suction tube gets clogged about every couple of months. This makes it annoying but it’s really no big deal. As I said, my fish are messy and I don’t think a regularly stocked tank would run into this problem. I would love to see a wider suction tube to try and prevent this but hey, small con for a filter that keeps my dirty little fish swimming in a virtually spotless world. I have heard some complain about the noise once the water level drops a little and it is quite noisy, but it’s the water falling into the tank that I hear, not the filter itself, and personally, I love that sound. It is peaceful and I can hear it from my bed at night. Being in a big city though, anything beats traffic sounds.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Marine_guy
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: October 2003
Location: Calgary, Canada
Review Date: 1/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Filters out a lot of detritus
Cons: You should use a skimmer instead, or LR for marine tank

I am happy with this product. I have a 55 gallon saltwater tank and this removes a whole lot of detritus (fish waste) from the tank. It is quiet, inexpensive, and provides for water flow. I have removed the biowheels for the saltwater tank, as I heard the biowheels would add for nitrates because of all the bacteria buildup. This is still under controversy.

But my basic assesment is that this is a good means of filtration, even for saltwater. You should change out the filter media every month or two to make sure the nitrates are kept to a minimum. But overall, this product is worth it if you do not have a protein skimmer in your tank (or even if you do).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
shemswqcx
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: October 2007
Review Date: 9/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $70.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: it filters
Cons: weak current

over a year, got a very weak current, bio-wheels dont even really work that well, they kinda exaggerate on how much beneficial bacteria you get
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.