Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » HOB (Hang On Back) Filters  

Hagen AquaClear 300 (newer model is called 70)
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 125268 3/13/2007
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $30.75 9.6




Description: The AquaClear 300/70 is a hang on the back filter which has an advertised 300 gph flow rate and works on tanks up to 70 gallons.

There is a pull-out basket which you are able to add reusable foam filters and media to. Hagen makes a media bag for use with this product to add whichever media you like.

Cleaning is relatively easy. I have plants which constantly get pulled up into the filter, so I end up cleaning the whole thing every other week. Here's what I do and how easy everything is to clean.

1. unplug and remove whole filter from tank
2. pull apart 3-piece tubes (2 straight pieces, 1 U-shaped)
3. Scrub those out with filter brushes (big pipe cleaners)
4. next pull out the basket
5. I have 2 sponges and 1 carbon insert ... so wrinse out the 2 sponge/foam filter inserts
6. scrub inside of filter if desired
7. pop off the impeller/motor
8. pull impeller out, scrub impeller and inside motor
9. put it all back together, fill with water and plug it in.

It may sound like a bunch of steps, but it is really easy, and I'd imagine if you didn't have a lot of plant debris or algae you could clean yours a lot less than I have to.

Oh, did I mention the best part. There's nothing to buy for this filter. Just wrinse out the foam filter pieces and reuse them. I used to hate buying filter inserts for every couple weeks (my old filter). Not only can you reuse the foam filters, the basket can hold up to 3 items. So, you could do 3 foam filters if you like or add any other kind of media as desired. You could also add carbon, denitrate, ammo chips or whatever in the media bag (not included)

I've had this filter for 5 months and am very pleased with it. Best $20 (petsolutions.com) I spent on my tank.

The filter is fairly quiet unless the water is low ... then there is splasing/gurgling sound.

There is also a flow rate on the top which does slow down the flow rate, but only a little bit.

I have had no problems with this filter so far, and would highly recommend it.
Keywords: HOB AquaClear 300
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Posts: 342
Registered: December 2004
Location: Pennsylvania



Author
CGF
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: March 2005
Location: FWB, Florida
Review Date: 2/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $34.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Simple to use. You can change various types of filter media without much hassle.
Cons: No shut off switch - must be unplugged to stop

Love this filter. I have a 30g tall and it came with an extension for the intake tube to reach further into the tank. Cleaning and maintaining is also very easy. The intake tube can be adjusted to decrease/increase amount of water per hour.

------------------------------
240-gallon
2- Freshwater florida Stingrays
5- Silver dollars


120- gallon
Saltwater Liverock and live sand cycling with a few inverts

90- gallon
4- clown loaches
2- Raphael Catfish(spotted)
1- Pictus Catfish
1- Pleco
3- JellyBean Parrots
3- Elephant nose
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BettaLadys
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: November 2004
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 14
Review Date: 2/12/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: works great and can change one media at a time for more bacteria retention
Cons: none

I have recently modded this filter to be a fuge, however, I used it in a fw tank for over a year and loved it. You can adjust the water flow and change the carbon or the sponge one at a time so that you do not lose all the beneficial bacteria when you do the changes. I would highly recommend this filter for all smaller tanks.

------------------------------
Betta Ladys, two ladys just 'doing their thing' offering quality bettas and other fishy friends!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
swrt
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: July 2004
Location: STL
Posts: 7
Review Date: 2/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: costomizable media, adjustable flow rate.
Cons: have to unplug to turn off.

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
slamber
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: September 2005
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 1
Review Date: 4/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $25.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The best you can buy
Cons: none

I have had several of these running for almost 10 years now and with minimum maintenence I'm thinking I might get another 10 out of them. They are extremely reliable and quiet, and the amount of filter media you can add are incredible.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
pegleg
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: November 2005
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 5
Review Date: 4/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: easy to clean and upkeep. lots of different filter media to change at different times to conserve bacteria
Cons: none

I love how i don't have to change the sponge every month, i just rinse it in some old aquarium water. Mine has a sponge on the bottom, carbon in the middle (which i replace monthly) and a bacteria conserving cartriage that kinda floats and is exposed to the surface for the bacteria to float on.
So far i haven't had any problems with it and I absolutely love it, my water stays crystal clear and it is easy to clean and upkeep.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
llama
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: July 2006
Posts: 2
Review Date: 11/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $28.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy to use, Replace, CHEAP to maintain
Cons: Has some issues priming when you first start it up

For the money, this is probably the best filter you can buy. I would NOT expect this filter to be able to do a 70 gallon tank single-handedly. I'd say keep it under 50 gallons with this.
Ive been using polyester filling instead of the carbon, it just adds even more filtering and its next to free! (2.99 for a bag that will last you... 3 years(ish)

Great product.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bomar
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: January 2008
Review Date: 2/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best one. You can use cheap floss to replace sponge
Cons: none

This is the best HOB filter you can buy. Trust me.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Kuziaaaa
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: June 2007
Review Date: 3/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Pretty quiet, large media capacity, affordable
Cons: Top rattles if off balance, some bypass, flow not particularly adjustable

I wish the output was less a waterfall and more controllable/adjustable, both in flow rate and direction. I have gotten bypass around the intake tube since setting both of my larger ones (110 and 70) up. No problems whatever on the 20, which is adorable. Sometimes the lid rattles, and sometimes a snail crawling up the intake will cause a bit of a flood by diverting the bypass flow.

However, it churns a lot of water and keeps it sparkly-clear, is very cheap and holds a ton of media.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.