Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
 Forum Home · Search · Register  

Home » Filters » Canister Filters » Fluval  
4143javamoss.jpg

Fluval Fluval404
Reviews Views Date of last review
8 130437 11/5/2006
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $106.40 8.9
4143javamoss.jpg

4143javamoss.jpg
supersize


Description: The ultimate multi-stage filter. Features, easy to use sealing lid with large seaaling clamps. The filter offers multi layer filtering and extremely efficient water flow throughout out the filter media for maximum cleaning. Automatic shut off disconnect valves and all hose and media included.



Over all...I find the fluval 404 to be a great fitler.

The assembly is somewhat complex and annoying though.

The filter has a moderate flow.

I'd recommend it to anyone with a tank between the size of 55-75.
Keywords: fluval404 404 filter fluval
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Registered: October 2003
Location: New Hampshire, USA



Author
Nuke_Spook
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: March 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
Review Date: 2/9/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Large filter capacity, good flow, silent operation
Cons: Sometimes bubbly, improrper rating for tank size, hard assembly.

I would have to say this is the best filter I have yet to buy!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
clammer
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: April 2005
Location: northport,ny
Review Date: 2/16/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $89.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: reasonable cost, easy to maintain, versatile
Cons: Only enough ribbed tubing to install it right by your tank

I am using two on a 55 FW gal tank, a third on a 55 gal goldfish tank. Easy to service. Priming plunger sort of works. It is easier to fill the canister with water, then use the priming plunger. If you just use the priming plunger it takes a while, and the filter will burp air for days. I think it should come with more ribbed tubing. I installed my filters behind a wall next to my tank and had to use vinyl tubing connected to the ribbed tubing because the fluval ribbed tubing wasn't long enough.

Recommended! I am glad I am using one, errrr... I mean three of them!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
swrt
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: July 2004
Location: STL
Posts: 7
Review Date: 2/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Large filter capacity, quite operation
Cons: dificult to prime.

This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
fishylee
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: May 2005
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 6
Review Date: 2/26/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Holds lots of media, very quiet, works great
Cons: Expensive replacement foam pads, impeller cover fell apart

The only problem I've had in 2 years of using this filter is with the snap-in impeller cover, which is falling apart. Also, new foam inserts are about $15 for all four.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SpeedStream
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: October 2003
Location: Niagara Falls
Posts: 3
Review Date: 3/15/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $170.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Large media baskets, easy cleaning ,quiet
Cons: none

Great canister filter overall.
I have had mine for 2 years and not a single problem.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
taygolf
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: October 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 6
Review Date: 4/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $92.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, easy to clean
Cons: None

I have two on my 125. I found the best price at bigalsonline.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
RAJNEESH JINDAL
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Registered: April 2006
Review Date: 9/29/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very quiet, good flow!
Cons: Very difficult to open!

Very good filter, just the trouble opening it is quite annoying! There is nothing to grip on, that can't be broken at the same time!
Easy to prime.
First four filterpads clog up the filter quite fast, since all bigger pieces to filter out will sit down at the bottom there. Flow will be recognizably less then although I have a Eheim prefilter with it!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Mystical473a
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 20
Review Date: 11/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Great! Installed and been running for a couple of days.
Great flow and filtration so far.
I used the plunger to start the unit and it worked fine.
Much easier to start than my Aqua One CF-1000
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost PHP vB3 Enhanced
Copyright 2008 All Enthusiast, Inc.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.