1st Baby Platy Succes!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ocminpin

Aquarium Advice Addict
This is my first time breeding and raising platies... I moved my biggest platy fry from my 10g nursery into my 20g growout tank... He/she immediately flocked to my two adults.

I melted with this pic...

Meringue (male, biggest), Cookie (female), & little no name fry :)
Fry is of no relation to these two adults... His mom was Trixie.
Fry is 11 wks old...

View attachment 84094

ocminpin said:
This is my first time breeding and raising platies... I moved my biggest platy fry from my 10g nursery into my 20g growout tank... He/she immediately flocked to my two adults.

I melted with this pic...

Meringue (male, biggest), Cookie (female), & little no name fry :)
Fry is of no relation to these two adults... His mom was Trixie.
Fry is 11 wks old...

How cute!

Starka said:
How cute!

Thank you :) The little one has been flitting around the tank ever since I put it in... It's soooo cute with such dark markings.. Should have a burst of growth in the next month being in the bigger tank. The lights make it look brighter too with the T8 as opposed to the standard hood lights on the 10g.
If it's a female I want to keep it... We'll see when it's a bit older. I'm so excited for the little thing :)
There are 7 more in the 10g, but they are so much smaller... Platies grow sooooo much slower than my mollies!

In my 55 I have a sunburst wag platy fry who I have named skeppy. I name her this because around her eyes are a small black lines like skepticals lol