5.5g What can I do with it?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jtd1216

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've been doing a couple FW tanks for about 3 years now. I have a 20g planted, and just finished up a 29g cichlid tank. I think i'm ready to work on tank three lol :lol: multiple tank syndrome i guess..

I have another 5.5g lying around that i wanted to use for something else. I was hoping a small SW setup. I've heard that it is harder to maintain water levels in a smaller tank than larger, but I only wanted to do a snail/shrimp/hermit set up maybe with some live rock. Is this do-able? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Right now, it has a 75w heater, and a AC 50

sure its doable. If it wasnt, you most likely wouldnt see a whole bunch of em on here would ya? :) lol

One thing you could do is try to set up a sump on it...try to find an old 20 gallon tank (or as big as you can find i suppose). Actually i dont know if 20 would be too big for it to work properly or not, so i'd wait to here about that, but i know a 10 would be fine. You could either pay to drill the tank (or do it yourself) or do a really small diy hang on overflow box. and then obviosly, have a small return pump (since its such a small tank) That would probably be plenty of flow for the tank, so then you'd just need about 5-8 lbs of live rock, and then about 4 or so pounds of live sand, or you could just get aragonite sand and it will eventually turn live. is the ac 50 an aquaclear? i'm guessing it is. I'm not sure, but i think that if you could get a sump on there in any way, that the ac 50 would pretty much be useless, and the heater would obviously go in the sump

hopefully someone can comment on the sump idea, as i have never tried it, but i'm sure i read where people do.