5 Gallon Hex

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greg

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hmmmm....

I have a 5 gallon hex tank and I'd like to stock it.
Preferably with some detritivores and limited live plants (silk/artificial preferred).
The fish don't have to be anything especially pretty...
I've got some experience with bettas in 3-5 gallon tanks and I am ready and willing to take on new challenges... But not too challenging; I have a life! ;P (Right?:confused:)

So...
...easy fish and possibly some crawlies (shrimp? crayfish!...?) in a 5g hex.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Yours truly,
Confused:changes:

Sad to say a 5g doesn't give much option. Since it's a hex, that will limit you more because the tank is taller than it is in length. You could go with a few ghost shrimp for the bottom. They're really low maintainence and are a great cleanup crew. Small schooling fish such as zebra danios will do well in a 5g, but you really only have room for 3 danios that you can put with like 3-4 ghost shrimp. That's only if you have proper filtration. I don't feel like the shrimp take up much room, but they will get into arguments if you have too many in one area. You could always look into 2-3 platies. I wouldn't push more than 3 in that tank. Good luck. Let us know what you decide on

Thanks for the reply!
Yeah... I had thought of that with the length:width:height factor...
Bamboo shrimp? I know ghost shrimp are an option, but I don't necessarily want too many- this tank is in my kitchen and something about translucent crap eaters with creepy pale eyes is not appetizing...
Danios are shoaling fish-- wouldn't they want more company?

Danios are too active for a 5g, much less a hex.

I have 7 Amanos, a female betta, and 3 cardinal tetras in mine. The tetras are OK but I think would prefer a larger tank.