? about substrate..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mommaof4boys

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey guys,

I'm new to planted tanks and I currently have a 55 gallon up and running that I was going to add some amazon swords and java fern to. However, the more research I do the more I realize that sand might not be such a good substrate for a planted tank. I've seen a lot about flourite substrate. SO, I was thinking about setting up the 125 to be the planted community tank. I see that a lot of people mix the flourite with aquarium gravel. Could I mix it with sand instead? I eventually want to have a very full planted aquarium. I think they are just beautiful. Could anyone give me some insight on how much flourite I would need to mix in for a 125 gallon tank?

Hey guys,

I'm new to planted tanks and I currently have a 55 gallon up and running that I was going to add some amazon swords and java fern to. However, the more research I do the more I realize that sand might not be such a good substrate for a planted tank. I've seen a lot about flourite substrate. SO, I was thinking about setting up the 125 to be the planted community tank. I see that a lot of people mix the flourite with aquarium gravel. Could I mix it with sand instead? I eventually want to have a very full planted aquarium. I think they are just beautiful. Could anyone give me some insight on how much flourite I would need to mix in for a 125 gallon tank?

Did you know that there is such a thing as flourite black sand. Also IMO sand is fine for plants. My 29 planted tank has a sand substrate.

If you want to add plants to your existing tank I think they will do just fine, however I don't think it's a good idea to mix your sand with flourite for the 125. I know I am getting Flourite Black Sand for my soon-to-be planted aquarium. It looks awesome!