Actinic Lighting in basic canopy ballast, for a 10g fowlr questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Phlex

Aquarium Advice Activist
Is this light sufficient enough for my FOWLR 10g? And if i chose to add an LPS, or anemone, which if any could survive on that lighting?

Im still learning, so any info on the reasons for the different types of lighting vs. another would also be useful!

edit: Just learned a ton from http://www.aquarium-lighting-guide.com/reef-aquarium-lighting. If anyone knows of any bad info from that, let me know..

well the three basics are Metal Halide, T5s, and LEDs

MH: very strong and penetrate well (not really needed for such a small tank) somewhat expensive and generate quite a bit of heat. Also use up a good bit of electricity

T5: Much more energy efficient and generate much less heat, though they don't penetrate as well i'd look into finding a fixture like this for a 10G. Possibly 4-bulb

LEDs: expensive, but if done right can be limitlessly customizable, and penetrate pretty well, and they really have some great colors

so for me if i could afford it i would go with LEDs, but for most its not within budget. a nice 4-bulb T5 fixture would support what you're looking to keep, though i advise against the anemone

the only thing i don't agree with is that halides penetrate the water better than T5 HO's. it's been my experience that this is incorrect. a good quality T5 fixture can light the same depth tank as a similar wattage (in some cases a higher wattage) metal halide fixture.

LPS require a lot less light than some anemones. IME for most LPS, moderate lighting is all that is needed. an individually reflected 2 lamp t5 fixture should be plenty for LPS in a 12" deep tank.
i also agree that you should skip the anemone.