Aggresive Male Molly

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

beachpaws

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to Mollies. I have a 30 gallon gold fish tank and 4 very health goldfish I have had for many year. Last year I got a 2.5 gallon aquarium and a betta as a gift. I put it on my beside nightstand and watched my fish everynight until I feel asleep. My betta died. I was told not to put another fish with the betta but a snail would be fine. So I bought a snail. The snail is still doing great. After the betta died, I went to the local pet store and asked what kind of fish I could get besides a betta for such a small tank. The sales associate I delt with told me that mollies and guppies would be fine. So, I left the store with one male orange striped bubble molly, one dalmation bubble molly, one male guppy, one female guppy and four baby guppies who somehow got caught in the net when the guy was fishing out the guppies I had chosen. I knew that the chances of the babies not being eaten were slim. Sure enough, I only have one baby left. After getting them home and in the tank, I was not so sure about that many fish in such a small tank but I took the guys word for it. He seemed so confident that this would be okay. A few days later, I noticed the male guppy had ick. I started treatment immedialty. I am using Ich Attack so I don't hurt my snail. The male guppy died. I still have ick after 5 days of treatment but that is not my main concern at this point. My male molly is VERY aggressive towards my female molly. He oes not eem to be hurting her but he does run into her and chaces her when ever I fee them. I feel so sorry for her. She hides all the time. I have been told that adding another female will take the pressure off of her but I am very hesitant to put another fish is this tank. Especialy, until the ick is under control. I am currently down to t