Am I doing this right?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sambos_gurl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello everyone I am a newbie and I was wanting some opinions on my current tank setup for my live plants.

I currently have several plants (forgive me I have yet to remember all of their names). I use liquid aqueon plant food, as well as seachem root tabs. I also do frequent water changes approximately once a week and have an aerator in my tank (I have heard good and bad about them in planted tanks)

My lighting is not up to par right now which I am aware of. I only have a 20 watt going over my 29 gallon tank. Everything seems to be vivid green but very few plants are growing any taller. They just seem to be sustaining themselves. Any advice?

sambos_gurl said:
Hello everyone I am a newbie and I was wanting some opinions on my current tank setup for my live plants.

I currently have several plants (forgive me I have yet to remember all of their names). I use liquid aqueon plant food, as well as seachem root tabs. I also do frequent water changes approximately once a week and have an aerator in my tank (I have heard good and bad about them in planted tanks)

My lighting is not up to par right now which I am aware of. I only have a 20 watt going over my 29 gallon tank. Everything seems to be vivid green but very few plants are growing any taller. They just seem to be sustaining themselves. Any advice?

IME bubblers allows the co2 to offgas faster, which the plants make use of. The wattage should be OK, but do you know what spectrum (K) the bulb is putting out? IMO a bulb in the 5000K to 6700K range is best for plants.

Sent from my Epic 4G using Aquarium Advice App