Ammonia gone, high Nitrites and Nitrates, I am a beginner and could use some help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ArcadianPines

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey everyone. I am a beginner and about 3 weeks ago I started a fishless cycle. The last few days, my readings have been looking as follows:

Ammonia:0 (I am having to dose it back to 4ppm everyday)

Nitrite: 2-5ppm (it seems like it is getting lighter as time has went on, so those seem like they are starting to drop.)

Nitrates: This test has been coming out very bright red. I have been marking it as 80-160ppm

I am no sure if these reading are what I am supposed to be getting. I actually did a 50% Water Change a few days ago and tested my Nitrates again, and they still read about the same as before. Will these begin to drop as Nitrites begin to drop as well? Any tips or advice would be appreciated. I am just getting worried that I messed something up. I have read a lot of conflicting info regarding doing water changes, or just leaving the tank alone to do it's thing, so I am not sure of what my next step should be. Does it sound like my tank is close to being finished?

I personally would add plants. Even simple potted ones. Any plants would help move the cycle along

The nitrates are removed by doing water changes. The more water you change, the more nitrates are removed. Some people prefer to do large weekly water changes, some like to do a few smaller changes throughout the week. There's pros and cons to both.
I'm not really sure how adding plants will help the cycle progress. They'll absorb some nitrate as nutrients I suppose. I feel like you need to have a high plant to fish ratio for it to be significantly impactful.

Yes by planting heavy plants will help turn nitrite to nitrate and eliminate ammonia. Then change the water for any excess nitrate.