Bacterial Bloom?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sotr4242

Aquarium Advice Newbie
We set up a new 37 gallon freshwater tank about 2 months ago. I am new to this, but my son, who I'm doing this with, has a few smaller tanks that don't have any problems.

This new tank was fine for a while, but as he started adding fish (probably too quickly apparently), we were getting bacterial blooms. We were told that's what was happening by the pet store owner. There is no algae fyi.

My son didn't really know what to do, so was doing water changes weekly, which I have since heard is not a good idea with a new tank that is trying to balance out its bacteria levels. We also kept adding fish, and as some of them were dying we would replace them. At one point there were about 22 smallish fish. There are now 8 left and we haven't added any more.

The owner of the pet store sold me some liquid that is supposed to help with rebalancing the bateria, told us not to do any more water changes, and said it will Clear up on its own. But it looks worse than ever now. The water is cloudy and looks horrible. This has been ongoing for about 2 weeks now with no improvement.

He said we have no ammonia or nitrites, and that that was a good thing.

Any suggestions on how to help clear this up?

Thank you for any advice.

Bacterial blooms are common in a newly set up tank that is cycling and all the nutrients are out of balance. They normally clear up on their own as the tank establishes. First thing, stop adding new fish.

When you say cloudy, what does it look like? Like a milky colour? Like green water? Like a weak tea brown? Or fine particles suspended in the water?