Black Moor Sick!!! Please HELP!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

priesman_8

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone,

I am a little new at owning and operating a fish tank. I have had an established tank for little over 6 months now. Recently my fiance and I went out of town for a long weekend. I did a 5gal water change and scrubbed some of the algae off the front off my 26gal tank and vaccumed the gravel a little before we left. We don't have an automatic timer for the light yet so we just kept it off for the 3 days we were gone. When we came back my two fish Ginger my goldfish and El Negro Derado my black moor were acting and eating like normal. After a couple days I noticed when I was feeding them for the night that my black moor has a fuzzy/cottony film on the back of his tails and it looks like he may have a slight fin rot starting. I brought my water to the local pet store and they said my Nitrates were high, I got the med called Prime and haven't introduced it yet because I didn't want to add to many chemicals when my fish wasn't doing so hot. I also bought that stuff call primafix? Well after I got home I put the correct dosage in there and started looking at my black moor and wondering if it was maybe Ick. He doesn't have spot spots per say, just a couple areas where the white seemed thicker than others. So yesterday I went and bought Ick meds. I put that in there last night. I know I probably shouldn't have introduced the Ick meds so quickly but I wanted to treat it before it got worse. Now this morning when I woke up my Black Moor was hanging at the bottom by the air filters. He didn't come up to the front of the tank as usual and didn't have an appetite. Every once in awhile he would swim around the tank briefly but that was about it. I noticed he has white poop now this morning and is breathing really heavily. I honestly am