Bottom of the fish tank goop?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Linamints

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, recently i've been a bit busy and my tank hasn't been getting routine cleaning.
I've just recently (maybe 2-3 weeks ago?) upgraded to a 1.5 gallon aquarium with a filter for a feeder fish i've been raising for a few years as i felt she had outgrown the bowl.

Recently i noticed an odd....goop forming in one spot at the bottom of her tank.
i took a picture of it:
img_1648340_0_2405a20577af5d5fa8bd1fcccb34d0ca.png

Sorry it's so dark.

The goop was concentrated around the filter tube. I'm not sure if it's relevant but the filter tube doesn't reach the rocks, she was in a little fish bowl for awhile and i haven't had the time/money to go buy her more to make the tank more full, so i just took what she had in the bowl.

Right after i took the picture i did as detailed a cleaning job as i could to get rid of the goop. Scrubbed the filter (i think the tube was even clogged by this stuff x.x) changed the cartridge, cleaned the rocks in a strainer, scrubbed the plants. and did a substantial (not full, i know she needs her bacteria) water change.

it seems to be gone for now, and Lili didn't seem sick or distressed by it but i'd still like to know what it is in case it comes back or might have made her sick.

I just thought I'd post an update.

The goop grew back since I posted this thread. I noticed that it seems to gravitate towards food on the bottom of the tank. Lili likes to eat off of the bottom and won't eat the flakes that are floating at the top or falling. I'm trying to feed her less so that there isn't as much, but she just doesn't eat if its floating.