Brackish tank.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Robsue

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm looking at staring a brackish tank as a stepping stone towards marine. Anyone got any experience with this and advice would be appreciated

I'm looking at staring a brackish tank as a stepping stone towards marine. Anyone got any experience with this and advice would be appreciated

I have some limited experience into the brackish side of the hobby. What do you plan on keeping?

Hello Rob...

I keep tanks of "Livebearers" that don't necessarily require it, but are healthier in brackish water. Brackish simply means a bit more than half a gram to 30 grams of either aquarium salt, commercial canning salt or Kosher salt in roughly a quart of fresh water. What specifically are you look for?

B

Actually, to keep a brackish tank correctly, reef salt or sea salt for SW aquariums is better. It has the nutrients that plain aquarium salt, kosher salt and canning salt lack.

I've been keeping a planted brackish for years. First you need to figure out your stock, the size of tank and if you want to go planted. After that, you need to research what SG (specific gravity/salinity) each fish does best at and come up the SG you'll keep your tank at.

I keep dragon gobies, knight gobies, sheepshead pupfish and ghost shrimp. My SG is low 1.005-1.008.

Moved to a more appropriate forum than AOT; hopefully you will get more traffic and more input here - although it looks like you've already got some very knowledgable people involved.