Cloudy tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lola10

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello folks. I'm new to fish ownership and I'm having issues getting my tank to clear up. We started the tank in December and for the last month it has been pretty cloudy. It was a greenish color so I added a bit of aqueon algae remover. Now it looks kind of bluish but my snails are hanging out above the water which concerns me. I'm supposed to dose it again in a couple days but not sure if I should. I have tried several water changes, reducing the light on time but no luck. pH is 8.2 and ammonia, nitrate and nitrite are all zero. Any ideas you can give would be great.

Attachments

• CE57A41E-22DC-49FC-8CB9-93F28E49BC13.jpg
    CE57A41E-22DC-49FC-8CB9-93F28E49BC13.jpg
    253.1 KB · Views: 22
Has it been like this for a month? That's a long time, I would bet on the death of some bacteria, what are you using as biological filtration?

Has it been like this for a month? That's a long time, I would bet on the death of some bacteria, what are you using as biological filtration?
Yes it’s been a month or so. I have been using a top fin activated carbon cartridge.I changed it once about 2 weeks ago.

Yes it’s been a month or so. I have been using a top fin activated carbon cartridge.I changed it once about 2 weeks ago.

That is chemical filtration in the water, what do you have as biological filtration? Where do the bacteria in your tank lodge?

That is chemical filtration in the water, what do you have as biological filtration? Where do the bacteria in your tank lodge?

I suspect this might be the issue, I thought the sand at the bottom of the tank provided the necessary substrate for the bacteria?