Complete noob....need some serious help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hoppingtetra30

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi All. I've been going through tons and tons of posts trying to figure out what to do and Im just stumped with all the information available...Im hoping some of you folks can give me some advice.

I have been out of the aquarium game for quite a while, and even when I had one it was a simple 37 gallon with no plants, just fish.

Im trying to get back into it, and I got a great deal on a tank, but I really want to try my hand at a planted tank. From what I have gathered I want a low light tank, just want to keep it simple...but I dont know what equipment I need?!?

What I have:
75 gallon tank
48" light...fixture says 40w, bulb says 32w.
Filstar XP2
200w heater

Now, Im guessing that this light fixture is not adequate...could I add another one or do I need to replace it?

I also believe that the single XP2 is not going to work, but would it be fine if I added another one...or maybe if I just added a HOB?

I also believe that I need a second heater? This one looks like junk and its not submersible so I think I'll just sell it and get what I need...which is?

Im not sure what Im planting yet, and Im unsure of the fish. Im very flexible so I'd like to setup something low maintenance without spending a ton more money and I will find the plants and fish that work for that.

Thanks in advance!

I kept 2 dual t5 fixtures(not high output) over a 75g & it was just enough to keep low light plants alive...
Add an aquaclear 50 hob with your xp2&msube a powerhead for added flow..
New heater for sure&begin with seachem flourish comprehensive,api leafzone&seachem excel..Will get pricey over time using those so maybe dry ferts&glut once you've gained xp...