Completely confused

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rm86100

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok well last time I asked some questions everybody was really helpful. Now I have a few more questions. I am brand new to this hobby so please bear ith me.

I bought this tank and a couple pieces of equipment and now I dont know what to do, what other equipment to get or how to set it up.

My goals are to eventually be able to keep some coral and anemones along with fish of course.

What are some ideas of what I can do with what I have or what should I buy?

Here a few pics of what stuff looks like:

A sump pump that has a pipe going out of it and turning into the tank.

The tank has a pipe that is drilled on the back... Overflow I think?
IMG%5D

Filter or something like that?

IMG%5D

Thank you for all your help in advance.

-Ricardo

The one that looks like a filter is a HOB skimmer.

I doesn't look like you have anything on, you shouldn't let the water remain stagnant it should be circulating. As joy13 said it looks like a HOB skimmer with a filter media compartment. Do you have any test kits, refractometer, lighting, live rock, what kind of substrate?

I doesn't look like you have anything on, you shouldn't let the water remain stagnant it should be circulating. As joy13 said it looks like a HOB skimmer with a filter media compartment. Do you have any test kits, refractometer, lighting, live rock, what kind of substrate?

I have it running. The tank is overflowing to a container underneath and I have a sump in there pumping it back it, that will at least move the water.

I have salt in the water. Salinity about right got to tweak it some more.
I have test complete test kit.
Refractometer??
NO lighting yet, T5HO is what im planning.
Oolite LS

-ricardo