Correct way to read nitrate levels?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luananeko

Aquarium Advice Addict
Okay, so I've been using my API master test kit for several years now, and I STILL can't figure out the right way to read the nitrate test's color. I figure it's high time I ask and see how everyone else reads it. I follow the directions to the letter about shaking the bottles first, yada yada, but once it changes colors I can never tell what color on the key it's matching to.

No, I'm not colorblind. The color seems to vary wildly depending on the angle it's held at, the lighting, whether I hold it up directly against a white paper, further away from a white paper, etc. The same reading looks anywhere from 20 ppm to 160 ppm (highest the chart goes) depending on these factors. What's the right way to do it?

It's gotten to the point that I just throw up my hands and do 50% water changes every week regardless of what the readings say... While I agree that's best for the fish anyways, it's murder on my water bill...

Er, I read it against the chart (upside down) and against white background.

I seem to pick it better with the chart upside down, bit weird.

Half the colours look the same to me.

I use it against white background, with my lamp giving some bright light. Agree though, colors too similar

Shake and bang nitrate bottle #2 like hell for the most accurate readings straight before you put drops in the sample, it tend to give a lower value else...

If you have difficulty to read shades of yellow to red to brown, maybe ask for a friend to read it.

It's easy to read between 5ppm to 40ppm, but over >60ppm all colors will seems the same... Anyways if NO3 > 40ppm, you have to find the problem.