Cycling mishap

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KylieB123

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hi I'm new to aquariums and unfortunately I didn't know about fishless cycling when I started my tank, and believed the petsmart worker who told me I could add fish just a week after setting up my tank if I used a product called cycle. this clearly wasn't the case, and I now have three platys in a 37 gallon tank that has not been cycled:(:( I am doing daily water changes of 40-60% to keep the ammonia levels down, but even with these water changes, the water is cloudy and the ammonia level shoots back up to 2ppm by the end of the day. Is there anything I can do to speed up the cycle or reduce the ammonia in order to save the fish? I've heard of a product called fritz zyme turbo start, does anyone know if that would work?
currently I am using the fluvial aquaclear 50 filter, and an aerator(I'm not sure what kind it is it just produces a wall of bubbles at the back of the tank) nitrates and nitrites are at 0, and ammonia is at between 1 and 2 ppm. the tank has been set up for about a week and a half.

I'm not very experienced but I see nobody has answered ... I'd do a little research on Prime. Petsmart has it and I understand it helps.

Do you know anyone with a healthy aquarium who can give you some of their filter media or gravel?

Hello Kyl...

Platys are very hardy fish. Fish in tank cycling requires daily testing of the water. When you have a positive test for ammonia or nitrite, you remove 25 percent of the water and replace that with pure, treated tap water. You just test the water every day and remove it when needed. If you remove too much water, you can delay the growth of the good bacteria. When several tests show no trace of the above toxins, the tank is cycled.

B