Dalmatian Molly showing aggression?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TDiToto

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone, I just recently completed the cycle on my 45 gallon tank. I went yesterday to petsmart and got some fish. I got 2 Dalmatian Mollies, 2 Mickey Mouse Platies, 2 Marigold Platies, 2 Twinbar Platies, 1 Panda Platy, and 1 Peppered Cory Catfish. They are doing really well and my tanks parameters are great. The only thing that I notice once in a while is that one of the Dalmatian Mollies likes to swim really fast at the other one and toward the Platies. I can't tell if he is nipping them. I am wondering if he is harassing them or what he is doing. Any comments would help. I am somewhat new to keeping fish by myself, I had fish as a kid but didn't know the right way to do things. I have learned lots from this site and found everyone very helpful. Just want to do everything right. Thanks for helping.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Do you happen to know the genders of the Mollys and Platys? It may be a male trying to mate with a female or show dominance over another male. A three females for every male is the minimum ratio recommend to keep aggression down. I think Mollys and Platys are similar enough that they can inter-breed, so it'd probably be best to consider them as one large group in this regard.

On an unrelated topic: Corys usually fair better in groups of 5 or more. Something to consider if you have the space for more.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Do you know how to tell the difference between the male and female? Thanks for the input. I want to make sure everyone is happy. I plan on getting more Corys, didn't realize it till I got them home