Damaged Barbels Corydora

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Death Himself

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello, I am new to this community, but I have been keeping fish for two years now. I had three corydora catfish in a ten gallon tank to begin with, but I unfortunately lost one after six months. I had just the two for another year and a half until a second passed. The remaining corydora is Porky, a peppered corydora. I did not want him to be alone, and knew they should ideally be kept is groups of six, so I purchased a twenty gallon tank. I set this tank up last Sunday, and put Porky in while monitoring all water parameters. Ammonia and nitrite are at 0 ppm, Nitrate around 20 ppm, pH at about 7.4 and 76 degrees Fahrenheit. After a day, I went to purchase more corydroas, but the pet store had only one baby albino corydora. This is where I made my mistake, seeing only one corydora I decided to also purchase a spotted pictus catfish and four neon tetras. I added them to the tank, and closely monitored the water parameters. Two of the neon tetras died on the first night, and the pictus ate the other two (one disappeared and I watched him eat the fourth), but the three catfish were fine for a period of about a week. Starting yesterday, the new corydora decided to stop hanging around Porky and just hides. I later noticed the pictus's barbels are losing color and getting flimsy on the ends, and when the new corydora came out of hiding today one of his barbels was completely missing. I do a 50% water change once a week, and the water parameters have not changed. The pictus I know technically does not have enough space, could he be aggressive towards my new corydora? He hasn't been up until now, but could that have changed? Am I missing something with the water parameters? Could it be from having a gravel substrate? If it's either of these, why isn't