Did I make a mistake? What do I do now..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sersee

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 29 gallon tank. We have had it for about 5 months. My levels have always been on point. I have different fish in it who all seem to get along great. We keep our water at about 78 degrees. It is filtered with an Aqueon(I'm not sure what kind but it is the appropriate size for my fresh water aquarium). We have a big rock like decoration right in the middle that is hooked up to a tube to have bubbles come out.

We had fish a long time ago and knew some stuff. But I am new to disease and what to do. We have 1 blue ram, 1 gold ram, pic catfish,gourami (dwarf), botia and 3 barbs. They have all been doing well.

We noticed the german blue ram had all these white spots on him when he flared out. He also seems to be getting thin although eating. I noticed the botia had 1-2 white spots and I think I saw one on the barb and catfish.

I went to the aquarium store and they told me it was most likely Ich. I have never dealt with disease before and went by what I was told.

The store told me to raise my heat to 80-82 and use Coppersafe. The box of coppersafe doesn't give a whole lot of instructions. We put the dose in. The box says that it lasts a month.

My water level is down so I am leaving it down to put the extra aeration in for the temp climb. We did take out the carbon on our filter.

But we weren't sure what else to do. I asked the aquarium store if I should do water changes. She said I could but need to add back in the coppersafe. She said I could wait the month for the medication to work.