DIY substrate for planted tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhawk__

Aquarium Advice Addict
What's a good DIY substrate I can do for a planted tank? I'm going to lowes today and want to buy some substrate. I was thinking potting soil on the bottom with pool filter sand on top? Would that grow plants nicely ?

Please help I'm a noob with planted tanks and DIY substrate !:)

I heard some planted tankers use potting soil like Earth Gro or Miracle Gro with gravel on top...then you can add playing sand...be aware of the cloudiness of this DIY

I havent done this myself... But I've heard you can use an organic potting should and cap it with sand. Since you said you were going to lowes, see if you can find play sand, I got a 50lbs bag for a little under $4.

I heard some planted tankers use potting soil like Earth Gro or Miracle Gro with gravel on top...then you can add playing sand...be aware of the cloudiness of this DIY

I was thinking miracle grow with pool filter sand on top. I'm swapping this into an existing tank so I would take out 75% of water then take out my gravel and my my fish to buckets , then out the soil on the bottom, and the sand on top. Do I have the right idea ? Could you maybe post a link to the soil from a lowes website so I know the right kind to get. I really don't want to mess up my tank